Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Federal Courts

General and Local Federal Court Rules

The general federal court rules include the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (F.R.C.P.), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure(F.R.Crim.P.), Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure (F.R.App.P.), and the Federal Rules of Evidence (F.R.E.).

Free Resources

Federal Rules of Practice & Procedure (U.S. Courts)
The U.S. Courts website provides access to the federal court rules and forms currently in effect.

Federal Rules (Cornell Legal Information Institute)
The Cornell Legal Information Institute (CLII) provides access to the current federal court rules, along with Committee notes. The CLII website also offers a search function for the rules.

United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.) (Rules volumes)
The U.S.C.A. is published by Thomson West.  It includes annotations to court decisions and detailed indexes. The rules volumes located after Title 28 of the Code contain the federal court rules.

United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.) (Rules volumes)
The U.S.C.S. is published by Lexis. It includes annotations to court decisions. The rules volumes located after Title 50 in the set contain the federal court rules.

Subscription Resources

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

  • Federal Court Rules – the current version of the general federal court rules, as published in the U.S.C.A.

Lexis (Lexis password required)

  • Federal Rules Annotated – the current version of the general federal court rules, as published in the U.S.C.S.

Individual lower federal courts issue their own rules that govern practice and procedure in their jurisdiction. These rules typically supplement the general federal court rules. 

Free Resources

​Courts Website Links (U.S. Courts)
This U.S. Courts webpage provides links to lower federal court websites. Federal courts are required by law to post local rules on their websites.

Federal Local Court Rules (West, current)
The Federal Local Court Rules is a ten volume print set, arranged alphabetically by state, that contains the federal district court rules for all the districts in the federal court system. The final volume contains the rules for each of the circuit Courts of Appeals.

Arizona Rules of Court, State and Federal (West, current)
The Arizona Rules of Court, State and Federal contains the rules required in the state and federal courts located in the state of Arizona. 

Subscription Resources

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

Lexis (Lexis password required)

Free Resources

Court Rules (Supreme Court of the United States)
The Supreme Court’s website provides the rules for the Court. It includes information about revisions to the rules as well as information for counsel about the rules. It provides the current rules and the prior version of the rules.

Rules of the Supreme Court (Cornell Legal Information Institute)
The Cornell Legal Information Institute (CLII) provides access to the current (unannotated) version of the Supreme Court Rules. The CLII website also offers a search function for the Rules.

United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.) (Rules volumes)
The U.S.C.A. is published by Thomson West.  It includes annotations to court decisions and detailed indexes. The rules volumes located after Title 28 of the Code contain the federal court rules, including the rules of the Supreme Court.

United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.) (Rules volumes)
The U.S.C.S. is published by LexisNexis. It includes annotations to court decisions. The rules volumes located after Title 50 in the set contain the federal court rules, including the rules of the Supreme Court.

Subscription Resources

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

Lexis (Lexis password required)