Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sports Law

Useful Websites

U.S. Government Agencies

Federal Trade Commission 
The FTC is a federal government agency that protects consumers by stopping unfair, deceptive or fraudulent practices and promotes competition by enforcing antitrust laws. 
 
National Labor Relations Board 
The NLRB is the federal agency that acts to protect private employees against unfair labor practices. 
 
Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO is the federal agency responsible for granting patents and registering trademarks. 
 
Sports-Related Organizations
 
Court of Arbitration for Sport 
CAS is an international arbitral body that settles sports-related disputes. Their web site includes a searchable database of CAS awards.
 
Institute for Sports Law, Policy, and Research 
The Institute for Sports Law, Policy, and Research at Penn State supports and disseminates research on sports law and policy.  Resources available on its website include empirical reports, bibliographies, articles, Congressional publications, and teaching resources.
 
National Women’s Law Center: Title IX Athletes 
The National Women’s Law Center’s Title IX webpage provides information on Title IX, including the law’s history, relevant statistics, recent cases, and legislation related to the law.
 
NCAA 
The NCAA web site has NCAA Division I, II, and III Manuals, rule books, sports medicine handbook, and more.
 
Society of American Baseball Research, Business of Baseball Committee 
The committee’s mission is to “study all aspects of baseball administration and off-the-field activity including economic, organizational, labor and legal issues.” Their web site includes a collection of documents relating to the business of professional baseball.
 
Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports 
The Stark Center on the University of Texas at Austin campus houses an extensive collection of materials on physical culture and sports.  The Center makes some of its materials available through its Electronic Archives.
 
World Anti-Doping Agency 
WADA was established in 1999 to coordinate the fight against doping in sport. Its web site has the World Anti-Doping Code, list of prohibited substances, model rules, and guidelines. 

Current Awareness

Law360 – Sports
The Law360 Sports page provides coverage of news events related to the intersection of law and sports.

ABA Forum on the Entertainment & Sports Industries
The ABA Forum on the Entertainment & Sports Industries serves the needs of lawyers whose clients are in the entertainment and sports industries and those who plan to represent clients in these fields. The Forum's Twitter page links to news and analysis related to entertainment and sports law.

Collegiate and Professional Sports Law Blog
This blog, authored by attorneys at the law firm Jackson Lewis, provides news and analysis of legal issues affecting collegiate and professional sports.

GlobalSport Matters
GlobalSport Matters is​ a multimedia content hub that delivers timely information on critical issues affecting sport. It is a joint project of the Arizona State University Global Sport Institute and the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. 

InsideSportsLaw
InsideSportsLaw is a Twitter account from the Sports Law Blog that provides information on all things legal relating to the sports world, from leading sports lawyers.

Index: Sports Law in Law Reviews and Journals (HeinOnline)
This journal article from the Marquette Sports Law Review provides an index to sports law subject categories (e.g. Antitrust, Constitutional Law, ADR, etc.) and provides the reader with a list of prominent articles published in 2020.

LawInSport  
LawInSport provides informal sports law blogs for sports lawyers, governing bodies, clubs, and sports businesses from people within the profession. 

SportBusiness
SportBusiness provides a wide variety of sports-related information, including fan insight, rights data, analysis, and news.

Podcasts

Bloomberg Business of Sports
Jason Kelly, Michael Barr and Mike Lynch follow the money in the world of sports, taking listeners inside decisions that power the multibillion-dollar industry. From media and technology to finance and real estate, leagues and teams across the globe have matured into far more than just back-page entertainment. The show explains the money behind the final score. 

Also available on iTunes, Spotify, and in most podcast apps.

Sports Business Radio
Sports Business Radio focuses on the issues and people directly impacting the world of sports business. Guests on the show offering an insider's perspective include pro sports league executives, agents, college athletics administrators, sports apparel company reps, ad agency executives, media executives, and athletes.

Also available on iTunes, SpotifyStitcher, and in most podcast apps.