Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Sex Crimes

WEB RESOURCES AND BLOGS

Arizona Criminal Justice Commission: Publications
The state tracks rates of crimes including sexual assaults and evaluates state services.

Bureau of Justice Statistics: Rape and Sexual Assault
Data regarding unwanted sexual contact as well as verbal threats, people of any gender.

Mandatory Minimum Penalties for Federal Sex Offenses
Federal analysis of mandatory minimum penalties in the federal system with statistical data on crimes and punishments.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service: Sex Offenders
A compilation of information from the federal Department of Justice including statistics on sex offenses and offenders, including their registration, supervision, treatment, and recidivism.  

SMART: Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking
Federal agency supporting governments' sex offender programs and tracking legal developments regarding sex offenders.

Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website
A searchable compilation of sex offender data from federal, state, territorial, and tribal governments.

Sex Offender Registry Websites
The FBI provides a list of registries for states, territories, and tribes.

Court Dockets on Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password)
Bloomberg Law provides access to state (including the Maricopa County Superior Court) and federal docket information. Case dockets provide valuable information about the legal issues and events of a case, as well as the people involved including the judge, attorneys, and parties. Generally, docket information will be most useful for researching trials. 

  • Federal cases – full-text documents are available on Bloomberg Law for the majority of federal cases.
  • Maricopa County Superior Court – docket sheets are available on Bloomberg Law for Superior Court cases. Full-text minute entries can be accessed on the Superior Court’s website.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
This database provides access to articles in journals related to criminal justice.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering reports, journals, statistics and other information on subjects relating to criminology, criminal justice, substance abuse, corrections, policy, and crime victims.

Lexis Criminal Law & Procedure (Lexis password required)
The Lexis Criminal Law Practice page provides general information about criminal law issues, including procedural and post-conviction matters.

Westlaw Criminal Law page (Westlaw password required)
The Westlaw Criminal Law page provides direct links to a criminal law case search, a listing of federal and state criminal law statutes, a listing of federal and state criminal law regulations, and to a list of subject-specific secondary materials that includes treatises, articles, forms, and newsletters

PRIMARY AUTHORITY

United States Code
Title 18 of the United States code enumerates federal sex crimes including sexual abuse and exploitation as well as provisions related to monitoring of sex offenders. 

Arizona Revised Statutes
Title 13, Chapter 35.1 lists sex crimes involving children. Title 13, Chapter 14 lists most sexual other offenses the state recognizes. Title 13, Chapter 32 concerns sex workers. Other provisions in Title 13 concern related matters, such as sex offender registration and treatment.

TREATISES AND REFERENCE

You can search for resources in the ASU libraries’ collection related to criminal law, post-conviction justice, public defense, and prosecution  in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Criminal law-United StatesPost-conviction remedies-United StatesPublic defenders-United States; and Prosecution-United States.

Criminal Practice Manual (Westlaw password required)
The Criminal Practice Manual is a practitioner-focused resource that provides overviews and analysis of criminal law topics.  It has extensive practice guidance including court documents, checklists, tactics, and explanations. This resource is available on Westlaw.

Arizona Practice Series
The Arizona Practice Series is a 14-volume set published by Thomson Reuters that is written for Arizona practitioners and provides explanations of legal topics, tips for client representation, and citations to relevant statues, cases, and other primary sources.  The print set is located in the Reference Collection of the library, near the Reference Desk, and is kept current. All volumes are also available on Westlaw.

  • Arizona Trial Handbook, Volume 8 of the Arizona Practice Series; a topically arranged guide for lawyers to all phases of civil and criminal cases in Arizona state courts.
  • Law of Evidence, Volume 1 of the Arizona Practice Series; provides an overview of the Arizona rules of evidence.

Criminal Procedure – Arizona Legal Forms
Criminal Procedure is Volume 7 of the Arizona Legal Forms set. The volume has forms for all actions authorized under the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure as well as commentary on the forms.  Maricopa County and Pima County Superior Court forms are also included.  The print set is located in the Reference Collection of the library, near the Reference Desk, and is kept current. All volumes are also available on Westlaw.

The Oxford Handbook of Gender, Sex, and Crime (Rosemary Gartner & Bill McCarthy eds., 2014)
Offering a variety of perspectives on contemporary and historical issues involving sex crimes, including offenses against children and an examination of punishments for sex crimes.