Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: International Human Rights Law

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blaklley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources.

Librarians are available 9:00am-4:00pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is a searchable database of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.  Coverage is from 1991-present.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, preprint repositories, and the web.

PAIS Index
PAIS is an index to articles, government and nongovernmental reports, and other resources dealing with international relations, law, government, and related social science disciplines. Coverage is from 1972-present.

Philosophers Index
This is an online index of books and journals that cover topics such as the philosophy of law, including human rights. It includes articles published from 1940-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database indexes international publications in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy, from 1975-present.

WEB RESOURCES

ASU Law Library International Law Guide
The Ross-Blakley Law Library's International Law Guide collects authoritative print and online research resources by subject, including human rights.

EISIL (Electronic Information System for International Law)
This web site, maintained by the American Society of International Law, is a free resource that provides links to treaties and other documents, organized by subject.

GlobaLex Research Guides
GlobaLex is a resource from the NYU School of Law that is dedicated to international and foreign law research. Multiple GlobaLex research guides offer information on international human rights topics:

HeinOnline’s World Treaty Library (available on campus and remotely with ASURITE)
This is a full-text searchable database of treaties.

United Nations Human Rights Bodies
This UN web page gives an overview of the United Nations’ human rights activities and links to web sites of human rights entities, including:

United Nations Universal Human Rights Index
The Universal Human Rights Index facilitates access to human rights recommendations issued by United Nations Treaty Bodies, the Special Procedures, and the Universal Periodic Review of the Human Rights Council. The Index enables users to produce overviews of recommendations by country, by Sustainable Development Goals, or by Human Rights Voluntary Goals, as well as to perform both basic and advanced searches.

United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library
The Dag Hammarskjöld Library provides research and informational support to the Member States at the United Nations. The Library’s digital collection includes UN documents, key UN publications series, and landmark collections, such as the Index to Proceedings (ITPs), and Oral History interviews.

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
This online library has a large collection of treaties, decisions, and other human rights documents.

TREATISES

ASU Libraries has many print books and e-books on the topic of human rights. E-books are available remotely with your ASURITE.  You can search for these books in the library catalog by using subject headings such as Human Rights. Below is a short list of library books related to international human rights.

International Human Rights in a Nutshell (2017)
This compact title provides a comprehensive overview of the international, regional, and domestic human rights systems as well as review new developments in the field of international human rights law. The title is also available as an e-book through West Academic (available on campus or with West Academic password).

International Human Rights (Jack Donnelly and Daniel Whelan, 2018)
International Human Rights, available as a ProQuest e-book, examines the ways in which states and other international actors have addressed human rights since the end of World War II. 

JOURNALS

Westlaw (Westlaw password required) and Lexis Advance (Lexis password required)
These resources include many law journals published in the United States. When researching an international law topic, however, you may also be interested in journals published in other countries. The databases below have articles published elsewhere.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (available on campus or remotely with ASUIRTE)
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes legal journals published worldwide, with a focus on international, comparative, and foreign law journals.  Coverage is from 1985 to the present. This is not a full-text database. Articles are searchable by subject heading and words in the title. To obtain an article not available in this database, contact the law library.

International & Non-U.S. Law Journals (available on campus or remotely with 
This HeinOnline database contains approximately 200 law journals published outside of the United States. The articles are full-text searchable.