Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: International Environmental Law

TREATISES

ASU Libraries has many print books and e-books on this topic. E-books are available remotely with your ASURITE.  You can search for these books in the library catalog by using subject headings such as Environmental Law, International.   Limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right.

CURRENT AWARENESS

Bloomberg Law Environment and Energy Law Report (Bloomberg Law password required)
The Bloomberg Law Environment and Energy Law Report provides news and practitioner insights on a variety of domestic and international environmental law developments.

Bloomberg Law International Environment Reporter Archive (Bloomberg Law password required)
The Bloomberg Law International Environment Reporter was an excellent source of news coverage for environmental laws and policies from around the world, including international organizations. It is no longer current, but content published between 1996 and 2018 can be browsed and searched on Bloomberg Law.

Center for International Environmental Law’s Blog
Developments on topics including climate, toxic substances, plastics, forests, mining, and economic issues.

LAW JOURNALS

Westlaw and Lexis have law journals published in the United States. When researching an international law topic, however, you may also be interested in journals published in other countries. The following databases have articles published elsewhere.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This database indexes legal journals published worldwide, with a focus on international, comparative, and foreign law journals.  This is not a full-text database - articles are searchable by subject heading and words in the title. To obtain an article not available in this database, contact the law library.

International & Non-U.S. Law Journals (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This HeinOnline database contains approximately 200 law journals published outside of the United States.

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Searchable database of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs. 

Google Scholar
Search multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, professional societies, preprint repositories, and the web.

The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (access restricted to Law affiliates)
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is an Oxford Public International Law publication. It has detailed descriptions of hundreds of public international law topics.

PAIS International
An index to articles, government and nongovernmental reports, and other resources dealing with international relations, law, government, and related social science disciplines.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
International publications in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy.

WEBSITES

Ecolex
Databases of environmental treaties, national legislation, and national and international judicial decisions searchable by subject and country. This site is operated by the UN Food and Agriculture Organization, the International Union for Conservation of Nature, and the UN Environment Programme.

EISIL (Electronic Information System for International Law) – International Environmental Law
This free resource provides links to treaties and other documents, organized by subject.

Environment Treaties and Resource Indicators
Database contains the text of multilateral environmental treaties and status data about those treaties.

FAOLEX
Includes national laws dealing with food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
This scientific body established by the United Nations Environment Programme and the World Meteorological Organization assesses climate change.

Johannesburg Renewable Energy Coalition  
An alliance of governments committed to achieving commitments on renewable energy made at the 2002 World Summit for Sustainable Development in Johannesburg.

OECD – Climate Change
Includes research and analysis by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development relating to climate change.

Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
This nonprofit organization dedicated to addressing climate change provides information about research, published reports on the environmental impact of climate change, and news reports.

United Nations Division for Sustainable Development
Includes information, documents, and publications relating to issues contained in Agenda 21, the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation, the Barbados Programme of Action for Sustainable Development of Small Island Developing States, and the Commission on Sustainable Development. National information by country includes information submitted biennially in national reports by member states to the Commission on Sustainable Development.

United Nations Environment Programme
Provides a wide range of resources, including technical guidelines, clearing-houses, trainer manuals, databases, publications and other useful tools produced by UNEP for governments, policy makers, civil society, private sector, and the public at large.

United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
Information and documents relating to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and the Kyoto Protocol, including decisions, resolutions, and reports of the Conference of the Parties, the Conventions decision-making body, and other UNFCCC official documents.

United Nations Sustainable Development Knowledge Platform
Provides leadership in promoting and coordinating implementation of the sustainable development agenda of the United Nations.

United Nations Global Change Research Program
Coordinates federal research on changes in the global environment. The Program's website gives information on the government agencies it works with and provides access to its publications and various research resources.

World Bank Environment Page
Fnd information and publications on certain areas affecting World Bank operations in the environmental field.

World Health Organization – Climate Change
Identifies policy options to prevent, prepare for and respond to the health effects of climate change, and supports Member States in selecting and implementing response strategies.