Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Indian Energy

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blaklley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources.

Librarians are available 9:00am-4:00pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

RESEARCH GUIDES

Ross-Blakley Law Library - Guide to Energy and Public Utilities
This research guide is for people seeking information on federal and Arizona environmental law, including regulatory efforts and permitting. The guide includes both primary and secondary sources, including links to Arizona government agencies. Some book resources on this page link to Ross-Blakley Library catalog records, which provide information about location and availability of items in the library collection.

Ross-Blakley Law Library - Guide to Indian Law
This research guide is designed to assist attorneys and scholars in researching tribal law, federal Indian law, and international law related to indigenous peoples. 

Labriola National American Indian Data Center (ASU)
This research collection is international in scope and brings together in one location current and historic information on government, culture, religion and world view, social life and customs, tribal history, and information on individuals from the United States, Canada, Sonora, and Chihuahua, Mexico. The Center has several guides that relate to energy and Indian law, including:‚Äč

WEB RESOURCES

Arizona Tribal Energy Association
This group dedicated to promoting tribal interests in energy through the federal and Arizona governments provides resources on Native American Utilities and similar advocacy groups.

Bureau of Indian Affairs
This subunit of the federal Department of the Interior provides assistance on energy and mineral development, among other economic initiatives. Includes information on Tribal Energy Agreements, which reduce regulatory burdens on tribal energy development.

Indigenous Environmental Network
This website maintained by Indigenous advocates for environmental and economic justice Includes policy positions on energy development inside and outside of Indian Country.

National Congress of American Indians: Energy & Minerals
Introducing the economic potential of tribal energy resources and gathering resources such as resolutions and speeches on proposed energy development programs.

Native American Rights Fund
Includes information concerning tribal energy development and related efforts to preserve environmental quality and natural landscapes.

NREL: State, Local, & Tribal Governments
The National Renewable Energy Laboratory, an organization dedicated to energy technology research, provides data about energy potential on tribal land and resources to help tribes analyze their energy development options.

Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs
The U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs to assist tribes with energy development. Its website provides Indian energy law news and notice of forthcoming events.

Renewable + Law blog
This resource from the business law firm Stoel Rives tracks developments in renewable and low-emission energy technology, including its effects on Indian tribes.

RMI Outlet
This blog from the Rocky Mountain Institute, a nonprofit seeking to promote low-emission energy generation, includes analysis of renewables, fossil fuels, international concerns, and tribal issues such as rural electrification and extraction of energy resources.

DATABASES

Indigenous Peoples of North America  (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This resource includes historical materials relating to Native American energy.

LAW REVIEWS AND JOURNALS

HeinOnline - North American Indian Law Journals (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
HeinOnline includes several journals dedicated to North American Indian Law.

American Indian Law Review
This University of Oklahoma College of Law journal includes articles concerning energy access in Indian Country as well as energy development.

NARF Legal Review
This National American Indian Rights Fund journal includes articles concerning energy consumption and development.