Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Artificial Intelligence: Law, Ethics, & Policy

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

ASU subscribes to many non-law databases that contain content related to AI.  Below is a select list of databases – you can search for additional resources through the following database subject lists: Business & Economics and Engineering & Computer Science. You can search all disciplines at once through Google Scholar.

ABI/INFORM
ABI/INFORM is a searchable database of business-related articles from thousands of English-language journals worldwide.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals and popular magazines.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

PAIS Index
Searching PAIS provides users access to articles, books, government documents, research reports, and more related to topics such as public affairs and social policies.

Philosophers Index
Philosophers Index searches journals and books related to philosophy and ethics.

Science Direct
Science Direct is an index to journal articles and book chapters.

Web of Science
This is a database of articles in science and technology.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The Ross-Blakley Law Library is currently only available for remote services, due to Arizona State University's response to COVID-19.

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9am-4pm Monday-Thursday and 9am -2pm on Friday by phone or by email.

Reference: (480) 965-7161
Email us now

Make an Appointment with a Librarian Service for Law Students
(currently Zoom only)


Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

TREATISES & ARTICLES

Below is a short list of online treatises related to artificial intelligence. You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog.  Note that on the left side of the screen, you can limit to “full text online” or “law library.”

Artificial Intelligence and Law: An Overview by Harry Surden (2019)
This article by Professor Harry Surden gives a high-level overview of the field in its current state and highlights some emerging areas of inquiry.

The Law of Artificial Intelligence and Smart Machines : Understanding A.I. and the Legal Impact by Theodore Franklin Claypoole (2019)
This ABA publication provides an in-depth examination of how artificial intelligence has evolved, how it will affect the legal profession, and how the law will be reformed to meet the new realities created by AI.

Artificial Intelligence: A Very Short Introduction by Margaret A. Boden (2018)
This Oxford Press book explains the history, theory, potential, application, and limitations of Artificial Intelligence.

The Artificial Intelligence Imperative: A Practical Roadmap for Business by Anastassia Lauterbach (2018)
This ProQuest ebook dispels common myths and calls for cross-sector, collaborative leadership for the responsible design and embedding of AI in the daily work of businesses and oversight by boards.

The Digital Mind: How Science is Redefining Humanity by Arlindo L. Oliveira (2017)
The Cambridge ebook explains how developments in science and technology may enable the emergence of purely digital minds.

Debates for the Digital Age: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of our Online World by Danielle Sarver Coombs and Simon Collister (editors) (2016)
This ProQuest ebook provides a comprehensive overview of the seismic technological and cultural shifts the Internet has created in contemporary society.

Risks of Artificial Intelligence by My iLibrary (2016)
Featuring contributions from leading experts and thinkers in artificial intelligence, this ProQuest ebook was the first volume of collected chapters dedicated to examining the risks of AI. The book evaluates predictions of the future of AI, proposes ways to ensure that AI systems will be beneficial to humans, and then critically evaluates such proposals.

The Future of the Professions: How Technology Will Transform the Work of Human Experts by Daniel and Richard Susskind (2015)
This ProQuest ebook predicts the decline of today's professions and describes the people and systems that will replace them.

Robots Are People Too: How Siri, Google Car, and Artificial Intelligence Will Force Us to Change Our Laws by John Frank Weaver (2014)
This ProQuest ebook provides an extensive examination of how numerous legal areas—including liability, traffic, zoning, and international and constitutional law—must adapt to the widespread use of artificial intelligence in nearly every area of our society.

BLOGS AND PUBLICATIONS

Stanford Institute Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (HAI)
The Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (HAI) project at Stanford University is an effort to bridge the “explainability gap” with artificial intelligence by monitoring global trends and summarizing information in this exciting, new field.  Their annual AI Index Report is a useful way to track, collate, distill, and visualize data related to AI.  The website also has a News & Insights section, which is searchable and has filters.

AI Magazine
A publication of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, which is a “nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines.”  There is a search option available for the magazine.

Artificial Intelligence – Law, Policy & Ethics eJournal
An online journal sponsored by Vanderbilt Law School’s Program on Law & Innovation that includes working papers and articles accepted for publication.

Artificial Intelligence and Law
A scholarly journal published 4 times a year.

Artificial Intelligence: The Ethical and Legal Implications
A blog by Norton Rose Fulbright.

Artificial Intelligence Technology and the Law Blog
A blog by attorney Brian Higgins of Blank Rome LLP.

Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research
An open-access journal with refereed research articles and survey articles on all aspects of AI.

Law and AI
A blog examining the law of artificial intelligence, AI in law, and AI policy.

Lexis - Law360 - Technology
News articles on law and technology.