Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Topical Research Guides

Other Helpful Guides

If your research is going into greater depth on International or Foreign Law, please see our International and Foreign Law LibGuide for a wealth of useful information.

Government Websites

Federal Election Commission (FEC) 
The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency of the United States whose purpose is to enforce campaign finance law in United States federal elections.

Library of Congresses' Election Law Guide
A guide from the Law Library of Congress about election law with links to many primary materials and other government websites.

The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
NCSL tracks election and campaign issues in four major categories: campaign finance, election laws, technology and procedures, election results and analysis, and initiative and referendum.

ACE Project
Launched at the United Nations in 1998 by International IDEA, the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), and the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA), ACE was initially created as the Administration and Cost of Elections project. It was the world’s first online resource of its kind in the field of elections.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)
Recognizing that democratic elections form the basis for legitimate government, the OSCE observes elections throughout its 57 participating States. It also provides technical assistance to improve the legislative and administrative framework for elections in specific countries.

United Nations Electoral Assistance Division of the Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs (DPPA) 
The United Nations plays a major role in providing international assistance to countries to help with democratic processes, including political transitions, implementation of peace agreements, and consolidation of democracy.

Online Resources

CQ Voting and Elections Collection (available on campus or remotely with ASURITE)
This database integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.

Campaign Legal Center (CLC) 
CLC uses tactics such as litigation, policy advocacy, communications and partnerships to win victories that result in a more transparent, accountable, and inclusive democracy.

OpenSecrets.org
OpenSecrets merged the Center for Responsive Politics (CRP) and the National Institute on Money in Politics (NIMP) into a single database.  The intention was to create a one-stop shop for integrated federal, state, and local data on campaign finance, lobbying and more.

For historical datasets (1996-2018), you can visit the Campaign Finance Institute (CFI).

International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES)
Since 1987, IFES has worked in more than 145 countries, from developing to mature democracies.  The IFES produces a number of publications about the health of elections across the world.

National Democratic Institute - Elections Calendar
The NDI has created an index of the election cycles of democratic countries around the world.

Texts and Treatises

Below is a short list of treatises in the ASU libraries’ collection related to the legal issues of election law.  You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Government policy -- United States and Election law.

Election Law and Democratic Theory (2014 - ProQuest Ebooks)
This book provides a full-length examination of the political theories and principles and democratic values underlying current election law debates and the regulation of political campaigns and participants in the United States. Topics covered range from campaign finance reform, voting rights, reapportionment, and ballot access to the rights of political parties, the media, and other players in the system.

The Election Law Primer for Corporations (2008)
This American Bar Association primer covers the fast-changing landscape of campaign finance and lobbying laws. It begins with a discussion about campaign finance rules, political action committees (PACs), and campaign communications and activities by and at the corporation.

Guide to Political Campaigns in America
Created by CQ Press, this unique and comprehensive volume explores the history, issues, processes and people, and types of campaigns.

Law and Election Politics: the Rules of the Game (2005)
Law and Election Politics illustrates how election laws and electoral politics are intertwined, analyzing the rules of the game and some of the most important―and most controversial―decisions the courts have made on a variety of election-related subjects.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

America Votes! A Guide to Modern Election Law & Voting (2012)
A guide to American elections published by the American Bar Association

Principles of the Law, Election Administration: Non-Precinct Voting and Resolution of Ballot-Counting
This work is broken into three parts: 1) the rules for "non-precinct voting"-the casting of ballots by means other than the traditional polling-place on Election Day; 2) general principles for the resolution of disputed elections and is applicable to both presidential and nonpresidential elections; 3) presidential election disputes specifically and establishes procedures to resolve a disputed presidential election within the narrow time constraints established by Congress.

News and Current Awareness

CQ RollCall
Congressional Quarterly's Roll Call specializes in congressional news, but also follows congressional and presidential elections. It also includes Race Ratings for Senate, House, and Governor races.

Election Law Journal
Election Law Journal: Rules, Politics, and Policy (ELJ) provides global, interdisciplinary coverage of election law, policy, and administration.

Electoral Studies
Electoral Studies is an international journal dedicated to the study of elections and voting in different parts of the world. 

Election Law Blog
A frequently updated blog about the politics of election law, campaign finance, legislation, voting rights, and redistricting.

ACE Project - Latest Updates
Launched at the United Nations in 1998 by International IDEA, the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), and the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA), ACE was initially created as the Administration and Cost of Elections project. It was the world’s first online resource of its kind in the field of elections.

National Democratic Institute - Stories
The NDI gathers stories about international elections and has experts write about their impact on elections.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)
Recognizing that democratic elections form the basis for legitimate government, the OSCE observes elections throughout its 57 participating States. It also provides technical assistance to improve the legislative and administrative framework for elections in specific countries.

Study Aids

Election Law in a Nutshell (2017)
Available in print in the library and digitally on West Academic study aids (password required).
This Nutshell provides a succinct and thorough description of the law governing elections, the right to vote, and the political process in the United States. The topics addressed include “one person, one vote,” gerrymandering, minority voting rights, ballot access, voter identification, recounts, direct democracy, and campaign finance.

Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law (Wolters Kluwer login required)
Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, Second Edition (2019) is an up-to-date, user-friendly, and clear student-oriented treatise tackling the complex subjects in this field, including statutory interpretation, lobbying, bribery, redistricting, campaign finance law, and voting rights.