Skip to main content

Remote Access to Law Library Resources: COVID-19 Response: Home

A Temporary Guide to Library Resources During the COVID-19

LIBRARY SERVICES

The Ross-Blakley Law Library staff is available to help you whether you are on campus or far from Phoenix. You can reach us at the following phone numbers:

Circulation Desk: (480) 965-6144
Reference Desk: (480) 965-7161

Circulation and Interlibrary Loan
For circulation assistance please call the number listed above or email us at lawill@asu.edu. To request articles or scans, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request.

 

  • Checking out materials: You may continue to check out books from the law library collection using the self-check machine on the 3rd floor.  Flashcards and Bluebooks are now in the Study Skills collection and can be borrowed using the self-check machine.
     
  • Overdue fees: Overdue fees will not be enforced during this time.  We are extending due dates for all library materials, including interlibrary loans, and will waive any fines which may accrue.
     
  • Returning library materials: Library books may be returned to the book return at the Circulation Desk on the 3rd floor or to any ASU Library.
     
  • Requesting physical items: At this time, we are unable to fulfill requests for physical items.  To request articles or scans, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request or email lawill@asu.edu.  We will make every effort to obtain requested material as quickly as possible using digital resources.  To check the status of your request, contact the Circulation Desk via phone 480-965-6144 or email lawill@asu.edu.

Reference and Meet with a Librarian

Reference assistance is available via phone and electronically through the Email a Librarian service. Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students are encouraged to continue making appointments with our reference librarians to discuss legal research and resources. We can conduct our meetings over the phone or via Zoom.

DIGITAL TEXTBOOKS

Some textbook publishers are offering free eBook access to their textbooks to support students who have purchased the physical print version of a book but are unable to get to it because of school closures, travel restrictions, or quarantine.  Please check the spine of your book to determine its publisher and then follow the directions below if you would like to request a free digital copy of your textbook. 

Wolters Kluwer, Aspen, Carolina Academic Press, and Others:
Students can gain immediate access to eBooks (including textbooks) by making an account on Vital Source.  Vital Source also has study guides and books from other publishers so it’s worth checking if you need digital access to a book and can’t find it through ASU libraries or the Law Library's digital Study Aids.

Navigate here: https://bookshelf.vitalsource.com/#/user/signin

  1. Create an account using your @ASU email address (which is how it verifies).
  2. Confirm via email.
  3. Gain immediate access to up to 7 eBooks until May 25, 2020.

You should not be charged anything, asked for a credit card, or asked to put in any sensitive information.  Just create an account and you’ve got your books.

West Academic (including Foundation Press):
West Academic is providing complimentary access to their Assessment Platform and also providing complimentary access to eBook textbooks.

Follow the steps listed below in order to activate your Complimentary eBooks access:

  • If you don’t have an online study aids account, please create an account before you call at; https://subscription.westacademic.com/
  • Call 877-888-1330, Ext.4 to request and set up your eBooks. 
  • Please limit your request to only required course materials. 

West Academic has also given free access to their Assessment Platform – please follow the directions on this Google Document.

This is a new, premium study-aid for students that covers all 1L subjects (and many 2/3L subjects).  It gives you access to digital MBE’s practice, practice essays (with annotated answers), etc.  It’s a useful tool to practice testing.  Access to this will end on June 1, 2020.

Lexis Textbooks:
Lexis bases its access to free digital textbooks on a title-by-title decision.  To determine if your book qualifies, call 800-833-9844.

DIGITAL BLUEBOOK ACCESS

The Bluebook
The Law Library is able to provide Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students with free 60-day access to Bluebook Online

To receive an activation key for Bluebook Online, please email Sean Harrington at sean.harrington@asu.edu or Ask a Librarian

ONLINE STUDY AND RESEARCH RESOURCES

As a member of the ASU community you have access to a tremendous number of resources for digital information. We encourage you to utilize these tools to support your learning while classes are being taught through online platforms.

The ASU Library Catalog provides access to over one million eBooks. 

Electronic Study Aids 
The resources listed below are a great place to get subject-specific information, sample multiple choice questions, and practice essay prompts for all your classes.

Legal Research Guides
As always, the Law Library's subject-specific research guides can be accessed remotely. Some of the most well-utilized guides are listed below, and the full list of guides can be accessed here.

Law-Specific Databases
The Law Library provides access to a number of legal databases in addition to Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg. The databases listed below are excellent resources for historical and current legal information.

Interdisciplinary Research Databases
ASU Library offers a myriad of subscription databases covering all academic disciplines, including the sciences, journalism, humanities, gender studies, and sustainability. Content ranges from ancient texts to modern documentaries and cutting-edge scholarship.