Skip to main content

Law and Science: Health

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Guide Outline
   Scope
   Finding Science Articles
   Ask a Librarian

Health
   Medical Information
   State Legislation
   Subscription Resources
   Data and Statistics
   Books and Reference Resources

Patents
   Free Sources
   Subscription Resources
   Foreign Patents
   News
   Books and Reference Resources

Biotechnology
   Journal Articles
   News
   Books and Reference Resources

Sustainability
   Research Guides
   Research Databases
   Treatises
   Websites   
   News

Blockchain
    Research Databases
    Treatises
    News and Analysis
    Federal and National Resources 
    International Resources

DATA AND STATISTICS

National Center for Health Statistics
Published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this website contains public health statistics.

National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Data and Statistics
The NIOSH website contains extensive data and statistics related to worker health and safety.

State Health Facts
From the Kaiser Family Foundation, this web site provides health data by state and by category.

World Health Organization’s Global Health Observatory Data
This WHO web site has health-related statistics for its 194 Member States.

BOOKS AND REFERENCE RESOURCES

Below is a short list of treatises in the ASU libraries’ collection related to the legal issues of health law.  You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Public health lawMedical technology -- Government policy -- United States; and Medical policy -- United States.

Public Health Law in a Nutshell (2018)
Public Health Law in a Nutshell provides an informative and concise assessment of the critical role of law in American society to protect the community’s health. The book covers the constitutional sources and limits of public health law, as well as historic and modern attempts to regulate in the interests of public health and safety. It is also available as a West Academic ebook (on-campus or with ASU login).

Public Health Law Research: Theory and Methods (2013)
Public Health Law Research, available as both an e-book and print title, explores the mechanisms, theories, and models central to public health law research.

Medical Innovation: Science, Technology and Practice (2016)
This electronic book is a collection of empirical case studies featuring a wide spectrum of medical innovation.

MEDICAL INFORMATION

Medline
Medline is a National Library of Medicine database of articles on medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. It is available on campus or remotely with ASURITE.

PubMed Central
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.

Medline Plus
This National Library of Medicine web site provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. It contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and drug information.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The CINAHL database indexes articles from nursing and allied health journals. It is available on campus or remotely with ASURITE.

CDC WONDER
CDC Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) provides a database of informational resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)  
The EPA’s HERO database has scientific articles from peer-reviewed literature utilized by EPA to create Integrated Science Assessments (ISA) that feed into the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) review. HERO also includes data and references from Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), a database supporting agency policy-making for chemical regulation.

STATE LEGISLATION

FREE RESOURCES

CDC State Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation (STATE) System
This CDC resource provides current and historical data on state-level efforts to prevent and control tobacco use. Information can be browsed by topic and detailed reports can be generated for individual states.

LawAtlas
LawAtlas collects information on state-level laws related to health care. It offers Interactive Law Maps which enable users to access the law as it exists today and see how it has changed over time, provides access to Policy Surveillance Reports prepared by the Public Health Law Research program, and makes the underlying legal data, codebooks, and protocols of the Reports available.

National Association of County & City Health Officials
The NACCHO web site provides information on community heath, environmental health, infrastructure and systems, and preparedness. NACCHO also provides model rules pertaining to public health.

National Conference of State Legislatures – Health
NCSL is an organization serving legislators and staff of all 50 states. It provides research, technical assistance, and the ability for policymakers to exchange ideas. NCSL tracks important health issues in the state legislatures and provides information on programs sponsored by NCSL.

SUBSCRIPTION RESOURCES

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

SUBSCRIPTION RESOURCES

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required)

  • Health Law Practice Center - the Health Practice Center provides access to health-specific news, regulatory agency guidance and tracking, expert analysis, practical guidance, and other primary and secondary sources.
  • State Health Law Chart Builders - the State Health Law Chart Builders allow you to find, compare, and contrast state laws and regulations on trending healthcare topics. They provide concise summaries of each state's legal and regulatory regime for the topic selected, and can be customized to bring up only those jurisdictions and topics of interest to you. 
  • Health Law and Business News - this Bloomberg news page provides access to articles and pieces specific to law and health issues.

Lexis (Lexis password required)

  • Healthcare Practice Center - the Healthcare Practice Center provides access to Lexis' best-regarded and most-accessed legal sources, including primary law, secondary sources, news, and analysis. 
  • Law360 – Health - health news articles from Law360.com.

Westlaw (Westlaw password required)

  • Health Law Daily - Health Law Daily provides news and expert analysis on health law and compliance developments.
  • Health Law Daily Briefing - original expert analysis on health topics from Thomson Reuters attorney-editors.
  • Practitioner Insights for Health - this Westlaw resource provides access to news, cases, statutes, regulations, proposed legislation, and more, all specific to medical and health issues.