Law and Science

ASU Library One Search
To see a complete list of materials available in the library related to neuroscience, search the catalog for Neurosciences or Law -- Psychological Aspects.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
The DSM-5 is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists in the United States. The most recent update is available as an eBook through the American Psychiatric Association.

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (Marc D. Binder et al. eds., 2009)
This resource offers detailed information on a wide variety of topics in neuroscience, including physiology, diseases, and function.

Encyclopedia of Psychology & Law (Brian L. Cutler ed., 2008)
This resource contains entries addressing the interface of psychology and law.

Forensic Psychiatry:  A Lawyer's Guide (Vivian Shnaidman, 2016)
This title provides legal professionals the tools to identify mentally ill clients and help them navigate through the psychiatric information and language in reports and testimony. Topics include why a forensic psychiatrist is necessary, applications of psychiatry to law, various psychiatric disorders, and utilizing the expert witness.

Neuroscience (Elisabetta Baldi & Corrado Bucherelli eds., 2017)
This open-access bibliography began in 1972 and has continued to receive periodic updates since that time. Covering a wide range of topics, this resource is an excellent starting point for learning about neuroscience. You can search the database or choose from a number of themes.

Regulating Neuroscience:  Translational Legal Challenges (Martin Hevia, 2021)
This title focuses on the ethical and legal challenges posed by neurotechnology and its global regulation.

Responsible Brains:  Neuroscience, Law, and Human Culpability (William Hirstein et al., 2018)
This book examines the heart of the criminal law doctrine of mens rea, or guilty mind, charting the connections between human neurology and responsibility, and how mental states legally considered to be insanity may lessen or excuse culpability.

Biological Sciences
Articles, reports, books, and proceedings on topics such as bioengineering, biotechnology, human genome research, and neurosciences.

Google Scholar
Allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web. Many results are open source.

Medline
Medline is the National Library of Medicine database of articles on medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

PsycINFO
Journal articles and books in psychology and related disciplines.

ScienceDirect
Articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books on scientific, medical, and technical topics.

Law & Neuroscience eJournal
This eJournal is jointly published by the Indiana University Maurer School of Law and the UCLA School of Law. It contains review articles and original papers that examine legal issues related to neuroscience research.

Neuroethics & Law Blog
This blog contains legal analysis of current events that present ethical issues in neuroscience. The majority of the content is presented by law professors, although guest authors are also invited to post within their areas of expertise.

Trends in Neurosciences
For over four decades, this has been a prominent source of reviews and commentaries across all disciplines of neuroscience.