Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Traffic & DUI Law: Secondary Sources

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Guide Outline
     Scope
     Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
     Statutes
     Cases

Secondary Sources
     Books
     Websites

Municipal and Traffic Courts in Arizona

BOOKS

Representing Yourself: Appealing a Civil Traffic Case to the Superior Court
This guide provides information on how to appeal a civil traffic case from a Justice Court or Municipal Court to the Superior Court. 

Representing Yourself: Appealing a Criminal Case to the Superior Court
This guide provides information on how to appeal a criminal case (including criminal traffic cases) from a Justice Court or Municipal Court to the Superior Court. 

Arizona Criminal and Traffic Law Manual
This resources provides information on Arizona motor vehicle law, juvenile law, and criminal law and procedure.  It lists relevant Arizona statutes and provides updates on recent legislation.

Arizona DUI: A Manual for Police, Lawyers and JudgesJefferson Landlord
Arizona DUI is written for legal practitioners and police officers who work with DUI violations.  The book addresses aspects of a DUI arrest including DUI checkpoints, searches, breath testing, blood and bodily fluid tests, as well as aspects of a DUI court case including pretrial rights, charging the offense, sentencing, and administrative license proceedings.

DUI Reference Manual
The DUI: Reference Manual is a publication of the Judicial College of Arizona, prepared and published by the Education Services Division of the Administrative Office of the Courts of the Arizona Supreme Court.

Arizona DUI Trial Notebook, Bruce H. Chalk, Christina Cabanillas
The Arizona DUI Trial Notebook addresses all aspects of a DUI legal case including issues related to the traffic stop, the right to counsel, the elements of trial, and post-trial.
 

WEBSITES

Arizona Department of Public Safety: Impaired Driving
The Department of Public Safety’s Impaired Driving webpage provides information on Arizona DUI laws, interventions for repeat-offenders, and the societal cost for impaired driving.  The website also links to  DUI-related statistics.

Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT): Driving Under the Influence
The ADOT website for “Driving Under the Influence” explains penalties for DUI including the process of  license suspension and revocation, as well as driver services including traffic school and points assessment.  The ADOT website also links to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Crash Fact summaries for the years 1997 to 2005. These comprehensive summaries contain a multitude of facts and statistics about crashes including information about time of day, highlights and historical data, weather conditions, geographic location, pedestrian involved crashes, DUI involved incidents, motorcycle crashes, and fatalities.

Arizona Driver's License Manual
Arizona Driver License Manual and Customer Service Guide 

Governor’s Office of Highway Safety
The website of the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety links to Arizona DUI fines, statutes, impaired driving information, Arizona Drug Recognition Expert, seat belt statistics, speed and traffic safety, motorcycle safety, legislative summary, teens and young adults, and bike and pedestrian information.  This site also has information about the Governor's Children Are Precious Passengers (CAPP) program. CAPP is designed to increase the awareness of and compliance to child seat usage guidelines and requirements.

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
The IIHS website provides information about highway safety including laws and statistics. Users can view traffic laws of the various states by topic, and research studies conducted by the IIHS. There are also statistics available on a variety of subjects.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
The NHSTA website has information on driver and vehicle safety.  It provides access to tire ratings, crash tests, rollover information, fatal alcohol related accident statistics, and a variety of other data on driving safety issues.

Service Arizona
Service Arizona is an ADOT website that provides online services for motorists including drivers license information, title and registration, and access to forms and manuals.