Ask a Librarian
Arizona State Court System
Locating Court Opinions
Slip Law and Session Laws
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.)
Secondary Sources and Forms
State Bar Materials
Practice Guides and Treatises
Arizona Laws Governing Public Records
Obtaining Public Records
Frequently Requested Records Available Online
Property: Foreclosure, Homeowners Associations, and Landlord/Tenant Law
The state's governing document and framework lays out the powers and duties of the state government's components.
Arizona Administrative Code
Regulations are enacted by Arizona state agencies. Current Arizona regulations are published in the Arizona Administrative Code (the “AAC”). The AAC is organized into 21 titles. Each title covers a broad topic, such as Professions & Occupations, Economic Security, Education, etc. Each title contains the regulations promulgated by the state agencies that work in that subject area.
The AAC is published by the Arizona Secretary of State and is available on the Secretary's website. A word of caution: this version of the AAC may be as much as a year out-of-date, and currency information is difficult to locate. The AAC is also available on commercial online sources, such as Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw, but the commercial sources may not be any more current than the Secretary of State’s web site. If using a commercial online source, be sure to check the currency of the database.
Arizona Administrative Register
The AAC is updated by the Arizona Administrative Register (the “Register”), which is a weekly publication. The Register is available on the Arizona Secretary of State’s website. The Register contains, among others, Notices of Rulemaking Docket Openings, Notices of Proposed Rulemaking, and Notices of Final Rulemaking. Within the index of each Register issue is a list of regulations that have been proposed or adopted that year. The lists are cumulative for a calendar year, so when updating the AAC, you only need to look at the last issue published in any given year. Note that you may have to check this list for more than one year, depending on the currency of the AAC.
Governor: Executive Orders and Proclamations
Executive orders and proclamations are available on the website of the Governor (2015-present). Older executive orders and proclamations are available on the website of the Arizona Memory Project (1950-present).
Secretary of State
The website of the Arizona Secretary of State provides access to the current Arizona Administrative Code, the Arizona Administrative Register, and Uniform Commercial Code Filings.
Attorney General Opinions
Attorney General (AG) Opinions are issued when requested by the legislature (or either house of the legislature), any public officer of the State, or a county attorney, on a question of law relating to their office. Opinions are available through the following resources:
Law Library: opinions from 1975-2008 are available in print at KFA2840 .A554.
Arizona Attorney General's website: Opinions 1999-present are available online.
Arizona Memory Project: Opinions 1892-present are available online.
Westlaw: Opinions 1977-present (Westlaw password required).
Arizona Corporation Commission
The Arizona Corporation Commission (ACC) sets rules, regulations, and orders regarding public service corporations (utilities, securities) in Arizona, investigates and holds hearings on rate setting, and retains the public records of all corporations doing business within Arizona.
Arizona Practice Series (2020)
Title 41, Chapter 6 details state administrative procedure, including contesting agency decisions and appealing final agency decisions. Also available on Westlaw (login required).
Arizona Agency Handbook
The Arizona Attorney General's Office publishes this digest of administrative agencies' governance, including requirements regarding public money, open meetings, conflicts of interest, rulemaking, enforcement, and discrimination.
Arizona Rulemaking Manual (2011)
This collaborative effort between the state and the Rulewriters' Consortium provides guidance to state agencies in their rulemaking, including how to write rules, how to meet legal requirements including the state Administrative Procedure Act, and a handy flowchart of the rulemaking process.
The Arizona State Constitution (2013, John D. Leshy)
The author provides a section by section commentary of the state's foundational document, including provisions related to administrative law and regulations.
An updated list of state agencies sorted alphabetically.