One of the challenges facing scholars is making sure they get credit for their scholarship. This can be particularly true for scholars with common names and for those who have worked at multiple institutions around the world. The Open Researcher and Contributor Identifier (ORCID) solves this problem by providing scholars with persistent digital iDs that they own and control, and that distinguishes them from every other researcher. Scholars can connect their iDs with their professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more — and can share their information with other systems.
Registration Instructions
Go to https://orcid.org/. Click on SIGN IN/REGISTER, then click on "Register now." Enter your first name, last name, and primary email. You will then see a screen asking to disambiguate yourself from other people with similar names. Click on the button indicating NONE OF THESE ARE ME, CONTINUE WITH REGISTRATION. Enter your password and select visibility settings. Click on REGISTER. You will receive a request to verify your email. Your ORCID iD is a 16-digit string of numerals. It is contained in the email and displayed on your record page. You can now edit your record to add titles, institutional affiliations, etc.
Watch this video explaining ORCID.
"The open access advantage is real, sizable, and consistent. The minimal effort to upload an article onto an OA platform such as SSRN...pays rich dividends in the currency of subsequent citations in law reviews and court decisions." James M. Donovan, Carol A. Watson & Caroline Osborne, The Open Access Advantage for American Law Reviews, 97 J. Pat. & Trademark Off. Soc'y 4, 24 (2015).
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a huge open-access repository for scholarly papers in law, the social sciences, business, and some other disciplines. Hundreds of thousands of authors have posted abstracts and papers. SSRN has over 750,000 abstracts and most of the papers can be downloaded for free. It is a great tool for research, for disseminating information, and for keeping up with new developments.
Benefits of Creating an Account
You can create a free account at https://hq.ssrn.com/login/newMembership.cfm.
If you need assistance creating an account, please contact us at https://law-asu.libanswers.com/form?queue_id=4915.
Integration Instructions
To link your ORCID iD to SSRN, login at https://hq.ssrn.com/UserHome.cfm. Click on My Account. Next, click on "Connect to my ORCID record." A pop-up box will appear. Enter your ORCID credentials and click SIGN IN. When asked to do so, authorize access to your record. Your accounts are now linked.
Watch this video explaining how to submit a paper to SSRN.
HeinOnline archives current and historical legal content, including nearly comprehensive access to law reviews and journals, historical primary law, current and historical regulatory provisions, classic treatises, and international materials. As part of its service, HeinOnline includes Author Profile Pages that showcase, promote, and contextualize the scholarly work of individual authors.
When an author receives attribution for a work indexed by HeinOnline, an Author Profile Page is automatically created for that individual. Authors can, however, enhance their profiles by adding information to make it more complete. This includes adding a photo, biography, job title, university affiliation, and links to social media accounts. To update your profile, fill out and submit this form.
Access Author Profiles affiliated with the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law.
Integration Instructions
To link your ORCID iD to Hein, login at https://heinonline.org/HOL/Welcome. Click on MyHein Profile. Next, click on "Author Profile Admin." Click on the box entitled "Register or Connect your ORCID iD." Enter your ORCID credentials and click SIGN IN. When asked to do so, authorize access to your record. Your accounts are now linked.
You can also populate your ORCID record with articles from Hein. Go back to your profile and click on the box entitled "Send works to ORCID." A new page will appear. Use the checkboxes to select individual articles or use "Select All" to check every article (if an article is already included in your ORCID record, you will not be able to select it). Click Submit. Depending on the number of articles you are submitting, this could take a while. Once your accounts are linked, you will see a new tab on your profile entitled "ORCID Record." This tab lists books, book chapters, and interdisciplinary articles not normally indexed by Hein.
Watch this video explaining how to use Author Profile Pages.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature, books, and legal materials. As part of its service, Google Scholar includes Profiles that allow authors to showcase their academic publications, see who is citing their articles, graph citations over time, and compute various citation metrics.
Registration Instructions
Go to https://scholar.google.com/ and click on "My profile" (if you don’t already have a Google account, you will need to create one).
At minimum, enter your name, affiliation, and email. Click Next. You will receive a request to verify your email.
Add articles. At the top of the page, you should see two tabs: Groups and Articles. If you see your name listed under Groups, you can click on the link for ARTICLES to the right of your name. You can then use the checkboxes to select individual articles or you can use "Select all" to check every article. Otherwise, click on the Articles tab and use the checkboxes to select individual articles. When finished, click the blue arrow at the top of the screen. One nice thing about Google is that all of this information can be easily edited after you're done.
Now, adjust your settings. Under Article updates, I recommend "Email me updates for review." That way, you have control over what is being posted to your profile. Under Profile visibility, choose public. Under Follow by email, you can choose to receive updates about new articles related to your research or new citations to your articles. Click Done.
Google Scholar is easy to use, but doesn't always find every article and sometimes includes duplicates or false positives. To manually add an article, click the + icon in the gray bar above your publications list and select "Add article manually." Fill out as many of the fields as possible and click the blue checkmark. To delete an article, use the checkbox next to the article and click Delete in the gray bar above your publications list. To merge articles, use the checkboxes next to both articles, click Merge in the gray bar above your publications list, then click "Select" next to the preferred citation.
For more information on setting up your profile, see this guide.
For more information on exploring citations to you articles, see this page.