Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Scholarship Support

The purpose of this guide is to assist law school faculty in the production and promotion of their scholarship.

General Guidelines for the Submission Process

Information for Submitting Articles to Law Reviews & Journals (SSRN)
by Allen Rostron & Nancy Levit. A guide to submission methods, requirements and contact information for 203 law reviews. Last updated July 2020.

This article contains two charts useful for the law review/journal article submission process. The first chart contains information gathered from the journals’ websites about the following topics:

  • Methods for submitting an article (such as by e-mail, ExpressO, Scholastica, or regular mail)
  • Any special formatting requirements
  • How to request an expedited review
  • How to withdraw an article after it has been accepted for publication elsewhere. The second chart contains information about rankings of the journals and the law schools associated with them.

Nancy Levit, Scholarship Advice for New Law Professors in the Electronic Age, 16 Widener L.J. 947 (2007)
Helpful and detailed discussion of the submission process and related issues for law professors.

Brian D. Galle, The Law Review Submission Process: A Guide for (and by) the Perplexed
This comprehensive post, authored by a professor at Georgetown, covers all aspects of the law review submission process. Included are the definition of "redyip," overviews of ExpressO and Scholastica, and a thorough discussion of expediting reviews.

Robert Luther III, Practical Tips for Placing and Publishing Your First Law Review Article, 50 U. Rich. L. Rev. Online 63 (2016).
This short article is a collection of advice previously shared by Robert Luther, III, gathered from his experience submitting to law journals.

Scott Dodson & Jacob Hirsch, A Model Code of Conduct for Student-Edited Law-Journal Submissions, 67 Journal of Legal Education 734 (2018)
Dodson & Hirsh provide a series of proposed rules governing the law review submission and editing process. In so doing, the authors provide a good overview of the structure of the law journal submission process as well as best practices for authors and editors.

PrawfsBlawg, Tips on Placing Law Review Articles
These general tips from Orin Kerr range from submission timing to formatting.

Submission Cycles and Timing

It is generally accepted that law journals have two submission windows: a spring submission cycle in February and March, and a fall submission cycle in August. The materials linked below offer more information on the timing of these cycles and deviations from this norm.

Scholastica: Law Review Article Submissions Insights: A Data-Driven Look Into the Yearly Legal Scholarship Cycle
Using data from Scholastica, the authors of this post map out the times of year when most journals are open for submission and when most authors submit.

PrawfsBlawg, Underneath the Law Review Submission Process: Part I (Timing)
This blog post, part of a larger series resulting from interviews with article editors, provides information on when editors at one law review received the most submissions and issued the most offers in the February/March submission cycle.

PrawfsBlawg, Underneath the Law Review Submission Process: Part II More on Timing
As with the earlier post in this series, this post tracks when editors at one law review received the most submissions in the February/March submission cycle.

PrawfsBlawg, Underneath the Law Review Submission Process: Part IX Fall Submission Timing
In this post, the editors at one law review share when they received the most submissions during the fall submission cycle, and compare the fall cycle with the spring cycle.

Writing for a Law Review

Calls for Papers, Conferences, and Workshops

Legal Scholarship Blog
Frequently updated blog with calls for papers, conferences and workshops. Coverage is primarily U.S.-oriented. 

Law Conferences
Conference calendar for law and law-related topics. Coverage is internationally-oriented.   

Law Journal Rankings

Law Journal Meta Ranking
Developed by Professor Bryce Newell, this approach creates a "meta-ranking" by averaging four separate rankings of schools and/or journals, including U.S. News Peer Reputation ranking, Washington & Lee's journal ranking, and Google Scholar rankings.

W&L Law Journal Rankings
Rankings provide citation data and calculated ranks for the top 400 U.S.-published law journals and the top 100 law journals published outside the United States.

Google Scholar Law Ranking
Google Scholar ranks law journals according to the h5-index and h5-median as determined by citations in Google Scholar.

Characteristics that Correlate to Increased Citations in Legal Scholarship

In their article, Hein, U.S. News, and How to Increase Citations, Rob Willey and Melanie Knapp layout how certain article characteristics correlate to increased citations in legal scholarship, with the goal of helping scholars get cited more. A summary of their findings are are in the table below. 

Summary of Recommendations for Increasing Citations

Recommendation Details More Details (reference to page number in article)
DO: Write long articles

Top articles averaged 63 pages per article.

The most frequently occurring page lengths for top articles were 68 and 66 pages respectively.

79% of top articles were between 36-90 pages.

By comparison, less cited articles averaged 26 pages, per article and 74% ranged between 2-34 pages

Page 23
DO: Keep titles short

Top articles averaged 52 characters per title.

The most frequently occurring title lengths for top articles were 27 and 32 characters respectively.

Only 6.8% of top article titles had over 100 characters.

By comparison, less cited articles averaged 71 characters per title and 19% had over 100 characters per title.

Page 41
DON’T: Use colons in your title

Only 32% of top articles had a colon in the title.

Comparatively, 55% of less cited articles had a colon in the title.

Page 41
DO: Write on a popular/timely topic Articles on trending topics appear to garner more citations per article than articles on other topics. Page 54
CONSIDER: Publishing in widely accessible journals Limited data indicates that journals available on Hein have more citations per article than those with embargoes or not available. Page 67
DO: Publish in a top journal

37% of top articles were published in one of 2018 W&L Law Journal Rankings top-ten journals.

Only 3% of less cited articles were published in one of 2018 W&L Law Journal Rankings top-ten journals.

Page 69
CONSIDER: Publishing with a coauthor Our data only showed a slight difference in number of authors per paper between different segments, but other researchers have found publishing with a co-author to be beneficial. Page 69

 

Law Review Companions

Law Review Companions
Boston College maintains this list of online companions to law reviews, such as the Yale Law Journal Forum and the Vanderbilt Law Review En Banc. Included is information on the ranking of the parent journal, contacts, and submission requirements and methods.