Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Scholarship Support

The purpose of this guide is to assist law school faculty in the production and promotion of their scholarship.

SSRN, HeinOnline Author Profiles, Google Scholar Profiles, ORCID IDs, ExpressO

These and other tools can increase discoverability and impact of faculty scholarship. The Law Library can assist you with their setup and management. Please reach out to Leslie A. Pardo, Digital Services Librarian if you have questions.

SSRN: Social Science Research Network

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a huge open-access repository for scholarly papers where authors can post papers and researchers can find and download them. SSRN is a great tool for research (finding and getting access to papers), for disseminating information (authors sharing their papers), and for keeping up with new developments. You will find papers about law, the social sciences, business, and many other disciplines. Hundreds of thousands of authors have posted abstracts and papers to SSRN. SSRN  provides worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks including the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). SSRN´s eLibrary provides 950,733 research papers from 503,172 researchers in more than 55 disciplines.

Register for an SSRN Account

SSRN membership is free: Create an Account

Registering Enables You To:

  • Post your own papers
  • Download other authors' papers
  • Subscribe to eJournals (free and fee-based)

Major Benefits of Submitting Articles to SSRN

There are a number of benefits to faculty who post papers on SSRN: 

  1. Electronic abstracts of your papers are sent out on the regular SSRN e-journals’ listservs and are received by hundreds of scholars; 
  2. Papers are indexed in the permanent SSRN database, making them available to legal scholars with similar interests;
  3. Papers become searchable through regular search engines (Google, Yahoo, etc.), bringing you and the Columbus School of Law a larger audience;
  4. Posting helps the law school build a bigger web presence among scholars using SSRN;
  5. The law school can develop its own listserv to publicize faculty scholarship to faculty, alumni, colleagues of bench, etc.
     

VIDEO: How to Submit a Paper to SSRN


 

 

If you need assistance with your SSRN, please contact Leslie A. Pardo, Digital Services Librarian

HeinOnline Author Profiles

HeinOnline Author Profile Pages showcase and promote an author’s scholarly work. 

Features of Author Profile Pages

  • Showcase scholarly works
  • Send HeinOnline works to ORCID profile
  • Display external works in HeinOnline via ORCID intergration
  • Link to social media platforms
  • View ScholarRank Metrics
  • Analyze authors and identify relationships between them

Each individual who authors an article available in HeinOnline's Law Journal Library is automatically given an author profile page. You can, however, add additional information to your profile to make it more robust. This includes adding a photo, email address, title, university affiliation, ORCID ID, bio, and links to social media profiles. To update your profile, fill out and submit this form or contact Digital Services Librarian Leslie A. Pardo and she will make the changes for you. 

Access the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law's Author Profiles page.

Learn more about how Author Profile Pages work in HeinOnline. 

If you need assistance with your HeinOnline Author Profile page, please contact Leslie A. Pardo, Digital Services Librarian. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a highly visible source of citation information. As is the case with HeinOnline, you can create and update your Google Scholar profile.

Creating Your Google Scholar Profile

Google Scholar provides a comprehensive set of instructions outlining how you can set up your profile. These instructions also explain how you can add missing articles or remove ones that are included by mistake.

Deciphering the Information on Your Author Profile Page

Once you've set up your profile, you'll be able to view the list of your articles and obtain citation data. See the Google Scholar Citations page for more information about the available data.

ORCID IDs

One of the challenges facing many scholars is making sure you get credit for your scholarship; this can be particularly true for scholars with common names and those who have worked at multiple institutions around the world. ORCID ID solves this problem by providing scholars with a unique, persistent digital identifier that works across various publishing platforms.  You can connect your iD with your professional information — affiliations, grants, publications, peer review, and more. You can use your iD to share your information with other systems, ensuring you get recognition for all your contributions, saving you time and hassle, and reducing the risk of errors.

Many journals in the social sciences and hard sciences now require that authors submit their works using an ORCID ID, and it may not be long before the legal publishing world follows suit.  You can sign up for a free ORCID ID at the link below. 

The Sandra Day O’Connor Faculty Scholarship Repository

The Ross-Blakley Law Library is the central point for the distribution and preservation of the faculty scholarship of the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law. The Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law Faculty Scholarship Repository provides easy access to the scholarly works of the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law's faculty. The repository is designed to capture the scholarly output of our faculty in a form that features excellent organization, permits subject and keyword searching capability and offers full text access. Links to HeinOnline, SSRN, and KeyCite are included when available for each publication. If you have retained the intellectual property rights to your articles, we can also post the full text of your articles directly to the repository. If you have any publications you would like added to the repository, please send citation information to Leslie A. Pardo, Digital Services Librarian.

Journal Rankings

Law Journals: Submissions and Ranking
This website can be used to identify and rank journals on a variety of factors. From Washington & Lee School of Law Library.

Law Journal Meta-Ranking, 2020 Edition 
Compiled by Bryce Clayton Newell, Assistant Professor of Media Law and Policy, University of Oregon

Characteristics that Correlate to Increased Citations in Legal Scholarship

In their article, Hein, U.S. News, and How to Increase Citations, Rob Willey and Melanie Knapp layout how certain article characteristics correlate to increased citations in legal scholarship, with the goal of helping scholars get cited more. A summary of their findings are are in the table below. 

Summary of Recommendations for Increasing Citations

Recommendation Details More Details (reference to page number in article)
DO: Write long articles

Top articles averaged 63 pages per article.

The most frequently occurring page lengths for top articles were 68 and 66 pages respectively.

79% of top articles were between 36-90 pages.

By comparison, less cited articles averaged 26 pages, per article and 74% ranged between 2-34 pages

Page 23
DO: Keep titles short

Top articles averaged 52 characters per title.

The most frequently occurring title lengths for top articles were 27 and 32 characters respectively.

Only 6.8% of top article titles had over 100 characters.

By comparison, less cited articles averaged 71 characters per title and 19% had over 100 characters per title.

Page 41
DON’T: Use colons in your title

Only 32% of top articles had a colon in the title.

Comparatively, 55% of less cited articles had a colon in the title.

Page 41
DO: Write on a popular/timely topic Articles on trending topics appear to garner more citations per article than articles on other topics. Page 54
CONSIDER: Publishing in widely accessible journals Limited data indicates that journals available on Hein have more citations per article than those with embargoes or not available. Page 67
DO: Publish in a top journal

37% of top articles were published in one of 2018 W&L Law Journal Rankings top-ten journals.

Only 3% of less cited articles were published in one of 2018 W&L Law Journal Rankings top-ten journals.

Page 69
CONSIDER: Publishing with a coauthor Our data only showed a slight difference in number of authors per paper between different segments, but other researchers have found publishing with a co-author to be beneficial. Page 69

 

U.S. News Scholarly Impact Rankings

In February 2019, U.S. News announced that it was looking into creating a scholarly impact ranking for law schools. As a way to measure scholarly impact, U.S. News indicated that they would partner with HeinOnline to track the number of citations for each author's published articles. Following the initial announcement, many law school deans and professors raised questions about the new ranking system and how it would work in practice. In response, U.S. News issued an open letter to the law school dean community outlining the intended methodology for the proposed ranking system and why it chose to partner with HeinOnline.