Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advanced Legal Writing: Advanced Legal Writing: Indian Law

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     Ask a Law Librarian
     Getting Started
     Helpful Resources

Indian Law
     Books
     Law Journals
     Databases
     Labriola Center at ASU
     Subject-Specific Writing Competitions

Persuasion
   
 Books and Articles
     Databases
     Oral Argument Resources

LAW JOURNALS

American Indian Law Review
Concerning historical and current legal issues involving indigenous people in the United States and elsewhere.

Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, and Resistance
Focusing on civil rights and social justice for indigenous people worldwide.

NARF Legal Review
Featuring legal news and analysis.

Find more relevant articles by searching HeinOnline's Law Journal Library.

LABRIOLA CENTER AT ASU

Labriola National American Indian Data Center (ASU)
This research collection is international in scope and brings together in one location current and historic information on government, culture, religion and world view, social life and customs, tribal history, and information on individuals from the United States, Canada, Sonora, and Chihuahua, Mexico. The Center has several guides that relate to Indian law, including:

BOOKS

Here is a short list of texts from the ASU Library collection and online. You can search for additional resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as Indians of North America -- Legal status, laws, etc.; Federally Recognized Indian TribesGambling on Indian Reservations; and Indians of North America-Claims. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.

American Indian Law Deskbook, Conference of Western Attorneys General (2008)
This is a comprehensive treatise on Indian law presented from the perspective of state officials. It is available in print in the Law Library.

American Indian Law in a Nutshell, William Canby (2015)
This Nutshell is an overview of federal Indian law and policy, tribal governments, treaties, gaming, claims to water and land, etc. It is available in print in the Law Library and on West Academic.

Cohen’s Handbook of Federal Indian Law, Felix S. Cohen (2012)
This treatise covers federal Indian law, focusing on the relationship among tribes, the states, and the federal government within the context of civil and criminal jurisdiction, as well as areas of resource management and government structure. It is available in print in the Law Library and on Lexis. The 1941 edition is available on the University of Oklahoma’s web site.

Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights, James Stuart Olson and Mark Baxter (1997)
This encyclopedia includes brief descriptions of the major concepts, court decisions, Congressional acts, citizen protests, and individuals pertaining to the history of Native American civil rights. It is available in print in the Law Library.

The Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition, Bruce E. Johansen (1998)
This work includes entries on cases, laws, treaties, doctrines, organizations, individuals, and tribal law concepts. It is available in print in the Law Library.

Fletcher’s Principles of Federal Indian Law, Matthew L.M. Fletcher (2017)
This hornbook provides comprehensive coverage of Federal Indian law. It is available in print in the Law Library and on West Academic.

Handbook of North American Indians, William C. Sturtevant 
This is multi-volume encyclopedia summarizes knowledge about all native peoples north of Mesoamerica, including cultures, languages, history, prehistory, and human biology. It is available in print in the Law Library.

Indian Gaming Law and Policy, Kathryn R. L. Rand & Steven Andrew Light (2014)
Discussing legal developments in the regulation of Indian gaming, with a guide on researching Indian gaming.

Reservation “Capitalism”: Economic Development in Indian Country, Robert J. Miller
This book addresses historical, present-day, and potential future economic circumstances of Indian communities. It is available in print in the Law Library and online on campus or remotely with an ASURITE password.

DATABASES

The databases listed below provides access to journal articles and other resources related to Indian law. They are available on-campus or remotely with an ASURITE password. 

American Indians and the American West
This resource provides access to a variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. Specific collections include the Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.

America: History & Life
This database contains full-text articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric to the present time.

American Indian History Online
This database offers access to over 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs. Search by topic centers sorted by era or by North American culture areas, such as the Northeast, Southwest, Arctic, and California culture areas.

Anthrosource
Anthrosource indexes current issues from the American Anthropological Association’s most critical peer-reviewed publications. Coverage is 19th Century to the present.

Arizona and Southwestern Index
As part of the ASU Special Materials Index and covering from pre-history to the present, this resource covers all subjects dealing with Arizona and the Southwest including some southwestern Indian tribes. The index describes materials found in the Arizona Collection at Hayden Library.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
This database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. It contains more than 141,000 citations of multiple formats covering the U. S. and Canada, and dates of coverage include content from the 16th century to the present.