Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: State and Local Tax Law

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blaklley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources.

Librarians are available 9:00am-4:00pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

TREATISES

There are a number of treatises in the Law Library collection related to state and local tax law. You can search for relevant books in the library catalog by using the subject headings “State Taxation” and “Local Taxation.”

State Taxation (Jerome R. Hellerstein and Walter Hellerstein, Thomson-Reuters)
This treatise provides comprehensive coverage of state taxation and is a leading treatise in the field.

As Certain as Death: A Fifty-State Survey of State and Local Tax Laws (Susan Pace Hamill, Carolina Academic)
As Certain as Death surveys tax laws for the 50 states and provides a picture of each state’s revenue sources.

CURRENT AWARENESS

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities: State Budget and Tax Research
The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is a nonpartisan research and policy institute that provides research on and analysis of budgets, taxes, low-income programs, and social insurance programs.

Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
The Lincoln Institute of Land Policy is a nonprofit foundation that researches and recommends creative approaches to land use. It is an excellent resource on property taxation.

Tax Foundation Center for State Tax Policy
The Tax Foundation is a non-partisan educational organization that aims to educate taxpayers about sound tax policy. The Foundation’s Center for State Tax Policy produces data, research, and analysis on state fiscal issues.

Tax Policy Center
The Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center provides independent analyses of federal and state/local tax issues.

TaxProf Blog
The TaxProf Blog is edited by a tax law professor and offers resources, news, and information on tax law.  The blog contains both continuously updated permanent resources and daily information.

JOURNALS AND LAW REVIEWS

Tax Law Review
The Tax Law Review, published by the New York University School of Law, is a faculty-edited journal that focuses on tax policy scholarship. Content is available through HeinOnline (on campus or remote access with ASURITE), Westlaw, and Lexis Advance (Westlaw or Lexis password required).

The Tax Lawyer 
The American Bar Association (ABA) Section of Taxation publishes the Tax Lawyer.  The journal provides scholarly articles and key reports by Section of Taxation committees and task forces. The journal is available on the ABA’s Tax Lawyer webpage and on HeinOnline (on campus or remote access with ASURITE).

Tax Journals on Westlaw (Westlaw password required)
​Westlaw provides access to a number of tax-specific law journals.

Tax Journals on Lexis Advance (Lexis Advance password required)
Lexis Advance also provides access to a number of tax-specific law journals.