Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Professional Sports

DATABASES & INDEXES

Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment - HeinOnline (on-campus or remote access with ASURITE)
HeinOnline's Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment library provides access to a wide variety of resources relevant to sports and entertainment law including topically relevant cases, government documents (including Congressional documents), books, and articles. It also offers a bibliography, links to external sports law content, and links to external entertainment law content.

ABI/INFORM
ABI/INFORM has articles and reports from thousands of English-language publications covering business and management.

CABI Leisure Tourism Database
This database has articles from around the world dealing with sports and recreation.

Sports Medicine & Education Index
The Sports Medicine & Education Index has journals, reports, and conference reports dealing with sports law, sports business and marketing, and other topics.

SMA/Sports Market Analysis
SMA contains market research reports, consumer surveys, news releases, government data, and articles regarding sports marketing – including the ability to export statistics in spreadsheet form. Coverage is 1993-present.

SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus provides access to bibliographic information and full-text articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and research papers on all aspects of sports and fitness including law and legislation, management, and collegiate sports.  Coverage is 1830-present.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9:00am-4pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

TREATISES & REFERENCE WORKS

The Business of Sports Agents  2nd ed., Kenneth L. Shropshire and Timothy Davis, 2008 (ebook through ASU Libraries)
This book explores the business of sports agents and their rules and regulations.

Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing Linda E. Swanyne and Mark Dodds, 2011 (ebook through ASU Libraries)
This resource introduces sports management topics such as budgeting, finance, leadership, human resources, and merchandising.

Essentials of Sports Law Glenn M. Wong, 2002 (available in print in the law library) 
This treatise provides an in-depth look at the legal issues that impact the sports industry.  Major topics covered include torts, contracts, labor and employment law, intellectual property law, gender discrimination, athletes with disabilities, drug testing, and sports agents.

Fundamentals of Sports Law 2nd ed., Walter T. Champion (Westlaw password required.)
This treatise is a practical guide to the legal aspects of sports.  It addresses topics including contracts, labor law, torts, and constitutional implications.  The appendices include sample forms and letters, as well as the text of important laws related to sports.

How to Play the Game: What Every Sports Attorney Needs to Know  Darren A. Heitner, 2014 (available in print in the law library)
This book offers an overview of the sports law field. Individual chapters address topics including contract drafting and negotiation, collective bargaining agreements, intellectual property matters, drug testing and use, antitrust issues, and sports betting.

Intellectual Property Law in the Sports and Entertainment Industries Walter T. Champion, 2014 (ebook through ASU Libraries)
This is a survey of intellectual property law issues in the sports and entertainment industries, including trademark, trade secrets, and patents.

The Oxford Handbook of American Sports Law  Michael A. McCann and Glenn M. Wong, 2018 (available in print in the law library) 
In this book, leading scholars explore controversies in American sports law.

Sports and Antitrust Law 2014 (available in print in the law library)
This book is by the American Bar Association, Section of Antitrust Law.

Sports Justice: The Law and Business of Sports Roger I. Abrams, 2010 (ebook through ASU Libraries)
This book examines the legal issues faced by amateur and professional athletes, such as Title IX, violence, amateurism and college sports, and the safety responsibility of leagues.

Sports Law in a Nutshell 5th ed. Walter T. Champion, 2017 (ebook through West Academic)
This Nutshell is a compact analysis of the elements of sports law including contracts, agents, financial considerations, labor law, antitrust, torts, participant and spectator injuries, school and coach liability, sex discrimination, and intellectual property. It is also available in print in the Law Library’s Study Skills collection.

Sports Law Practice 3rd ed., James T. Gray (Lexis Advance) & (available in print in the law library)
This treatise covers collective bargaining agreements, contracts, licensing, and tax planning. Appendices include sample forms.

USEFUL WEBSITES

U.S. Government Agencies

Federal Trade Commission
The FTC is a federal government agency that protects consumers by stopping unfair, deceptive or fraudulent practices and promotes competition by enforcing antitrust laws.

National Labor Relations Board
The NLRB is the federal agency that acts to protect private employees against unfair labor practices.

Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO is the federal agency responsible for granting patents and registering trademarks.

Statistics

Sports Reference
A group of free sites providing both basic and sabermetric statistics and resources for sports fans everywhere. Their aim is, “to be the easiest-to-use, fastest, most complete sources for sports statistics.”  This covers professional: Baseball, Basketball, Football, Hockey, and Soccer.

Stat Fox
Stat Fox is a free sports statistics website that also integrates team statistics and betting handicaps.  It covers professional: Baseball, Basketball (including WNBA), Football, Hockey, Soccer, and NASCAR.

Sports-Related Organizations

Court of Arbitration for Sport
CAS is an international arbitral body that settles sports-related disputes. Their web site includes a searchable database of CAS awards.

Institute for Sports Law, Policy, and Research
The Institute for Sports Law, Policy, and Research at Penn State supports and disseminates research on sports law and policy.  Resources available on its website include empirical reports, bibliographies, articles, Congressional publications, and teaching resources.

Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports
The Stark Center on the University of Texas at Austin campus houses an extensive collection of materials on physical culture and sports.  The Center makes some of its materials available through its Electronic Archives.

World Anti-Doping Agency
WADA was established in 1999 to coordinate the fight against doping in sport. Its web site has the World Anti-Doping Code, list of prohibited substances, model rules, and guidelines.

CURRENT AWARENESS

Law360 – Sports
The Law360 Sports page provides coverage of news events related to the intersection of law and sports.

ABA Forum on the Entertainment & Sports Industries
The ABA Forum on the Entertainment & Sports Industries serves the needs of lawyers whose clients are in the entertainment and sports industries and those who plan to represent clients in these fields. The Forum's Twitter page links to news and analysis related to entertainment and sports law.

Collegiate and Professional Sports Law Blog
This blog, authored by attorneys at the law firm Jackson Lewis, provides news and analysis of legal issues affecting collegiate and professional sports.

GlobalSport Matters
GlobalSport Matters is​ a multimedia content hub that delivers timely information on critical issues affecting sports. It is a joint project of the Arizona State University Global Sport Institute and the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

InsideSportsLaw
InsideSportsLaw is a Twitter account from the Sports Law Blog that provides information on all things legal relating to the sports world, from leading sports lawyers.

LawInSport 
LawInSport provides an informal sports law blog for sports lawyers, governing bodies, clubs and sports businesses from people within the profession. They also host the LawInSport Podcast where they interview agents in a number of different sports law careers.

SportBusiness
SportBusiness provides a wide variety of international sports-related information, including fan insight, rights data, analysis, and news.

Podcast: The Business of Sports with Howard Bryant
The Business of Sports with Andrew Brandt takes listeners inside the game with in-depth interviews and analysis by one of the leading voices in the field. Andrew Brandt spent a decade each as both a player agent and as Vice President of the Green Bay Packers and is now ESPN's Sports Business Analyst, a weekly columnist at TheMMQB.com and the Director the Moorad Center for Sports Law at Villanova University. (Available on iTunes, Stitcher, Player.FM, and most podcast apps)