Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Patent Drafting

SUBSCRIPTION RESOURCES

Westlaw (Westlaw password required.)
U.S. Patents and Applications - this Westlaw database contains patent applications from March, 2011-present, granted patents from 1976-present, and patent assignments from 1980-present. Westlaw password required.

Westlaw Practical Law: Patent Counseling & Transactions
The Practical Law Center focuses on how-to guides and explanations of current law and practice, example/”standard” documents and clauses with drafting notes, practitioner-written articles, and legal updates.

Lexis Advance (Lexis Advance password required.)

Lexis Advance Practice Advisor: Patents
Lexis Practice Advisor contains resources focused on patent law including annotated forms, practitioner insights, and drafting guidance.  Resources are organized by eleven practice areas.

Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password required.)

  • U.S. Patent Search - this Bloomberg Law database contains U.S. patent grants, including utility patents (1836-present), design patents (1843-present), plant patents (1931-present), and reissue patents (1838-present). 
  • Practical Guidance: Patent Term - this Bloomberg Law contains checklists, charts, and forms for patent terms and patent term extensions.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9:00am-4pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

FREE RESOURCES

United States Patent and Trademark Office
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency that grants U.S. patents and registers trademarks. The USPTO website offers information on searching and applying for patents, registering trademarks, and about IP law and policy.

  • USPTO guides for patent applications: Design, Plant, Provisional Application, and Utility.
  • Patent Classification USPTO organizes patents through a system of classification. Until January 1, 2013, the United States Patent Classification (USPC) system was the official classification system, but this system is being replaced by the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) system. The CPC is a patent classification system developed jointly by the USPTO and the European Patent Office that will be used exclusively by both organizations within a few years. 
  • Seven Step Strategy for Finding Patents The USPTO details its recommended seven-step strategy for finding patents.
  • USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image database (PatFT) PatFT contains the full text of patents from 1976-present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present. The database has both a quick search and an advanced search feature.  Additionally, the USPTO Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT) contains the full text of patent applications from 2001-present. The database has both a quick search and an advanced search feature.
  • Official Gazette The Official Gazette is the official journal of the USPTO. It is published weekly and includes bibliographic information and a representative drawing for each patent granted or trademark published on that issue date. Official Gazette notices can be browsed by year (1995-present), and a Consolidated Listing of Notices for important notices and rules changes is available for the years 1964-1998. There is a separate Official Gazette for Patents and Trademark Official Gazette, both of which are published online only. Copies of these weekly gazettes are available for the preceding year.

‚ÄčUSPTO Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) maintains the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences website. This website provides information concerning board procedures, contact information, hearing information, patent interference, opinions, decisions, statistics, and other resources.

Google Patents
Google Patents provides online access to granted patents and published patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office from 1790-present and European Patent Office from 1978-present. It offers both a basic search and advanced search.

TREATISES & REFERENCE WORKS

Chisum On Patents: A Treatise on The Law of Patentability, Validity and Infringement by Donald S. Chisum (Current)
Donald S. Chisum's 53-volume masterwork gives you an authoritative analysis of all issues pertaining to patent law, including doctrines, rules and case law relating to patentability, validity, and infringement.  This is the most cited patent treatise currently on the market.

Manual of Patent Examining Procedure on HeinOnline (January 2018)
The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) is published by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) for use by patent attorneys and agents and patent examiners. It describes all of the laws and regulations that must be followed in the examination of U.S. patent applications and articulates their application to an enormous variety of different situations.

Patent it Yourself by David Pressman (2014)
Written by Attorney David Pressman, who has over 30 years of experience in the patent profession, the book walks inventors step by step through the entire process, explaining how to: 1) evaluate the commercial potential of an idea 2) file a provisional patent application to get an early filing date and patent-pending status 3) conduct a patent search 4) explore international patent protection opportunities 5) assign and license an invention to others and more.

Trademark Law: An Open-Source Casebook by Barton Beebe (2019)
NYU Professor Barton Beebe has produced an open-access, digital, free textbook for Trademark law that is used at around 40 institutions around the country.

FOREIGN PATENTS

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
The World Intellectual Property Organization is an international organization dedicated to the development and use of the international intellectual property system. The WIPO website offers a variety of resources on international intellectual property law and the systems that promote intellectual property protection.

European Patent Office (EPO)
The European Patent Office is part of the European Patent Organization, a 38-member intergovernmental organization that grants European patents. The EPO website offers information for inventors seeking European patents and a variety of patent searching tools.

  • European Patent Register The European Patent Register contains all publicly available information on European patent applications as they pass through the grant procedures.
  • Espacenet Espacenet offers searching of more than 70 million patent documents from 1836-present in the EPO database. Patents can be searched in English, German, French, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

Westlaw EPO Patents and Applications (Westlaw password required)
This Westlaw database contains the full text of all patents granted and patent applications published by the European Patent Office since 1980. Westlaw password required.

WIPO Directory of Intellectual Property Offices
This website lists international intellectual property offices alphabetically by country. Many countries offer free online access to patent collections in English and provide searchable databases. Below is a select list of English-language websites and searchable patent databases: