Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Neuroscience, Law, & Ethics

NEWS & BLOGS

Law and Neuroscience eJournal
The Law and Neuroscience eJournal is jointly published by the Indiana University Maurer School of Law and the UCLA School of Law. This journal contains review articles and original papers that examine legal issues related to neuroscience research.

Neuroethics: News and Analysis on the Implications of Brain Science
The Neuroethics website is funded by the Dana Foundation and aggregates neuroscience-related articles from a wide variety of periodical sources. This website primarily focuses on articles that describe current ethical issues as brain research progresses.

Neuroethics and Law Blog
The Neuroethics and Law Blog contains a legal analysis of current events that present ethical issues in neuroscience. The majority of the content is presented by law professors, although guest authors are invited to post within their area of expertise as well.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blakley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources. 

Librarians are available 9:00am-4pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

TREATISES & REFERENCE WORKS

Below is a short list of online books in the ASU Libraries collection related to neuroscience and law. You can search for other books in the library catalog by using these subject headings: Neurosciences and Law--Psychological Aspects.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition by the American Psychiatric Association (2013)
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists in the United States. This resource is available as an ASU e-book.

Encyclopedia of Neuroscience edited by Marc D Binder; Nobutaka Hirokawa; and Uwe Windhorst (2009)
This online resource offers detailed information on a wide variety of topics in neuroscience, including physiology, diseases, and function.

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law by Brian L. Cutler (2009)
The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law, available as an ASU e-book, is a two-volume set that contains entries which address the interface of psychology and law.

Other online books:

Forensic Psychiatry: A Lawyer’s Guide by Vivian Shnaidman (2016)
This ebook provides legal professionals the tools to identify mentally ill clients and help them navigate through the psychiatric information and language in reports and testimony. Topics include why a forensic psychiatrist is necessary, applications of psychiatry to law, various psychiatric disorders, and utilizing the expert witness.

The Insanity Defense: Multidisciplinary Views on its History, Trends, and Controversies edited by Mark D. White (2017)
This ProQuest ebook presents a range of expert viewpoints on the insanity defense, exposing common myths; investigating its effectiveness and place in our legal system through history, case studies, and comparative analysis; and supplying perspectives from the disciplines of psychology, psychiatry, sociology, and neuroscience.

Neuroscience: An Historical Introduction by Mitchell. Glickstein (2014)
After an overview of the brain and its connections to the sensory and motor systems, this MIT Press ebook discusses, among other topics, the structure of nerve cells; electrical transmission in the nervous system; chemical transmission and the mechanism of drug action; sensation; vision; hearing; movement; learning and memory; language and the brain; neurological disease; personality and emotion; the treatment of mental illness; and consciousness.

Neuroscience Basics: A Guide to the Brain’s Involvement in Everyday Activities by Jennifer L. Larimore (2017)
Neuroscience Basics: A Guide to the Brain’s Involvement in Everyday Activities is an ebook that examines how our brain works in everyday activities like sleeping, eating, love, and exercise.

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Biological Sciences
Biological Sciences provides access to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books covering the biological sciences.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

Medline (Proquest)
Medline is the premier bibliography in biomedicine and the life sciences, compiled by The National Library of Medicine.

Philosopher’s Index
Philosopher’s Index provides access to books and journal articles of philosophy-related inter-disciplinary fields, including bioethics.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine and law.

Science Direct
Science Direct is a database of scientific journal articles and book chapters.