Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Foreign Relations Law

NEWS AND WEB RESOURCES

Senate Foreign Relations Committee
The Senate Foreign Relations Committee was established in 1816. It influences United States foreign policy, and its website provides access to its hearings, reports, and press releases.

U.S. Treaties in Force
U.S. Treaties in Force is an annual State Department publication that lists international agreements that are in force in the United States. It is arranged into two sections: bilateral treaties and multilateral treaties. The bilateral section is arranged by country and then by subject. The multilateral section is arranged by subject. This resource is also available on HeinOnline and Westlaw. HeinOnline also contains a U.S. Treaty Index.

Council on Foreign Relations U.S. Foreign Policy
This page contains blog posts and other writings by scholars related to law and policy in U.S. foreign affairs.

Lawfare Blog
This blog, created by scholars of law and foreign policy, covers how national security actions interact with American law and legal institutions. It typically contains shorter writing that is responsive to ongoing events.

New York Times International Relations
Articles and commentary from The New York Times related to U.S. International Relations.

U.S. News & World Report Foreign Policy
News about American foreign policy from U.S. News & World Report.

BOOKS AND REFERENCE

Below is a short list of books related to U.S. foreign relations. You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as:  United States – Foreign relations and United States -- Foreign relations -- Law and legislation.

Restatement of the Law Fourth, the Foreign Relations Law of the United States 
This Restatement covers U.S. law regarding foreign relations and international law as it applies in the United States as derived from U.S. treaties and customary international law. It is also available electronically via HeinOnline, Westlaw, and Lexis.

United States Foreign Relations Law: Documents and Sources 
This five-volume print set contains primary sources from throughout American history related to foreign relations.

Cambridge History of American Foreign Relations
This four-volume e-book provides a comprehensive history of American foreign relations from 1776-1991.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
This e-book contains entries by foreign policy experts on topics that include policymaking, human rights, terrorism, international economics, refugees, and war.

Digest of United States Practice in International Law
Published annually by the State Department Office of the Legal Adviser, these digests provide a historical record of the views and practice of the U.S. Government in public and private international law. The State Department website includes the years 1989-present. HeinOnline offers access from 1973-present.

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

ASU subscribes to many interdisciplinary databases that contain content related to foreign relations.  Below is a select list of databases. You can search for additional resources through the full listing of database subjects.

HeinOnline: Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity from 1861-1988.

Digital National Security Archive
This resource provides important declassified U.S. government documents related to twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online
This includes the full text of declassified U.S. government documents, covering nearly every major foreign and domestic event from the end of World War II through the 1970s, with some documents through 1992.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
CIAO is a searchable database of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs.  Coverage is from 1991 to the present.

PAIS International
This is an index to articles, government and nongovernmental reports, and other resources dealing with international relations, law, and government. Coverage is from 1972 to the present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database indexes international publications in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy, from 1975 to the present.