Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Criminal Law Practice

TREATISES & REFERENCE

You can search for resources in the ASU libraries’ collection related to criminal law, post-conviction justice, public defense, and prosecution  in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Criminal law-United States; Post-conviction remedies-United States; Public defenders-United States; and Prosecution-United States.

Criminal Practice Manual (Westlaw password required)
The Criminal Practice Manual is a practitioner-focused resource that provides overviews and analysis of criminal law topics.  It has extensive practice guidance including court documents, checklists, tactics, and explanations. This resource is available on Westlaw.

Arizona Practice Series
The Arizona Practice Series is a 14-volume set published by Thomson Reuters that is written for Arizona practitioners and provides explanations of legal topics, tips for client representation, and citations to relevant statues, cases, and other primary sources.  The print set is located in the Reference Collection of the library, near the Reference Desk, and is kept current. All volumes are also available on Westlaw.

  • Arizona Trial Handbook, Volume 8 of the Arizona Practice Series; a topically arranged guide for lawyers to all phases of civil and criminal cases in Arizona state courts.
  • Law of Evidence, Volume 1 of the Arizona Practice Series; provides an overview of the Arizona rules of evidence.

Criminal Procedure – Arizona Legal Forms
Criminal Procedure is Volume 7 of the Arizona Legal Forms set. The volume has forms for all actions authorized under the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure as well as commentary on the forms.  Maricopa County and Pima County Superior Court forms are also included.  The print set is located in the Reference Collection of the library, near the Reference Desk, and is kept current. All volumes are also available on Westlaw.

DATABASES

Court Dockets on Bloomberg Law (Bloomberg Law password)
|Bloomberg Law provides access to state (including the Maricopa County Superior Court) and federal docket information. Case dockets provide valuable information about the legal issues and events of a case, as well as the people involved including the judge, attorneys, and parties. Generally, docket information will be most useful for researching trials. 

  • Federal cases – full-text documents are available on Bloomberg Law for the majority of federal cases.
  • Maricopa County Superior Court – docket sheets are available on Bloomberg Law for Superior Court cases. Full-text minute entries can be accessed on the Superior Court’s website.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
This database provides access to articles in journals related to criminal justice.

Lexis Advance Law 360: Criminal Law (Lexis Advance password required)
The Lexis Advance Criminal Law Practice page provides direct access to federal and state criminal cases, federal criminal statutes, briefs, pleadings, and motions from criminal law cases, as well as relevant secondary sources and news.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering reports, journals, statistics and other information on subjects relating to criminology, criminal justice, substance abuse, corrections, policy, and crime victims.

Westlaw Criminal Law page (Westlaw password required)
The Westlaw Criminal Law page provides direct links to a criminal law case search, a listing of federal and state criminal law statutes, a listing of federal and state criminal law regulations, and to a list of subject-specific secondary materials that includes treatises, articles, forms, and newsletters

NEWS & WEBSITES

ABA Criminal Justice Section
The Criminal Justice Section of the American Bar Association provides access to general criminal law resources on its website, as well as resources pertaining to specific fields of criminal law, through the Resources tab of its homepage.

Arizona Court Rules
Westlaw provides free access to an unannotated version of the Arizona Court Rules.

CrimProf Blog
CrimProf Blog, a member of the Law Professor Blog Network, is edited by criminal law professors at the University of San Diego School of Law.  The blog provides news and analysis of criminal law topics.

State Bar of Arizona Criminal Justice Section
The Criminal Justice Section of the Arizona State Bar Association provides link to a number of criminal law resources, including Arizona-specific resources, on its Criminal Justice Resources page.