Skip to main content

Seminar Topical Research Guides: Law of Armed Conflict

GETTING STARTED

Choosing a Paper Topic Research Guide
This research guide from the Ross-Blakley Law Library is designed for students who are writing a substantive legal research paper and are looking for guidance on how to begin. The guide details sources for help in selecting a paper topic and offers insight in how to check whether your paper will add new information to the field of law.

Conducting a Preemption Check Research Guide
This research guide details the recommended steps for conducting a preemption check, as well as provides information on and links to a variety of resources for conducting a thorough check.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

The reference librarians at the Ross-Blaklley Law Library are happy to help you find or navigate research resources.

Librarians are available 9:00am-4:00pm Monday-Friday at the reference desk, by phone, or by e-mail.

Phone: (480) 965-6144
E-mail us now

Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students can also make an individual appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance by submitting an online request form

TREATISES AND REFERENCE MATERIALS

To locate books in the ASU Libraries collection related to the international law of armed conflict, search the library catalog by using subject headings such as Humanitarian Law and War – International Law.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (ASURITE login required if off campus)
This online encyclopedia has detailed entries and bibliographies on all aspects of public international law, including the law of armed conflict.

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

CIAO  (Columbia International Affairs Online) 
This is a searchable database of the full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs from 1991-present.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, these, books, abstracts, and technical reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)  
This is an online index of articles in the fields of international relations, law, government, and other social science disciplines from 1972-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This is an online index of articles in the fields of political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy from 1975-present.  

U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Contains the full text of declassified U.S. government documents from 1941 to 1992.

Military and Government Collection
Provides access to journal articles and other publications that offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

WEB RESOURCES

Avalon Project
This Yale Law School web site contains the text of numerous treaties regarding the laws of war. 

EISIL, American Society of International Law
The Electronic Information System for International Law is a portal to treaties and other international law documents arranged by subject. Subjects include International Humanitarian Law and Use of Force.

Geneva Convention Materials
The Library of Congress has created this online collection of documents relating to the Geneva Conventions.

International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), Customary International Humanitarian Law database
This web site contains ICRC’s analysis of existing rules of customary international humanitarian law and a database of state practice organized topically and by country.

  • ​ICRC National Implementation Database
    This is a database of national statutes and cases regarding state implementation of international humanitarian law. Texts are in their original language. Statutes and cases are accessible by state and by topic.
  • ICRC Treaty Database  
    This ICRC web site has the full text of many humanitarian law treaties, as well as lists of state parties.

International Courts and Tribunals Library
This is part of the World Legal Information Institute. It has a searchable database of decisions of international courts and tribunals.  

International Law Guide, Ross-Blakley Law Library
The International Law Guide provides information on a variety of international research topics and links to hundreds of online and electronic resources.

National Security Archive  
George Washington University - Gelman Library in Washington, D.C. houses the National Security Archive, a repository for declassified documents obtained from the U.S. government through Freedom of Information Act requests.

Rule of Law in Armed Conflicts Project, Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights
This web site contains reports on state implementation of the international law of armed conflict, organized by country, as well as links to national constitutions and relevant legislation.

U.S. Naval War College, The Law of Armed Conflict / International Humanitarian Law Research e-Portal
This portal will lead you to relevant treaties, military manuals, reports, and other sources dealing with the international law of armed conflict.