Skip to main content

Indian Law: Subject-Specific Resources

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     News Sources
     Ask a Librarian

Tribal Law
     Background Information
     Tribal Constitutions, Codes, and                     Court Opinions

Arizona Tribes
     Tribal Information - Arizona
     Tribal Law for Tribes in Arizona

Federal Indian Law
     The President and Agencies
     Congress
     The Courts
     Indian Claims Commission
     Indian Policy Documents

Indian Treaties
     Sources for Indian Treaties
     Treaty Background Information
     Maps
     Researching Indian treaties - CALI

International Indigenous Law
     Secondary Sources
     Key International Documents
     The United Nations
     Other International Organizations
     ASU International Law Portal

Subject-Specific Resources
     Water Law
     Economic Development

Secondary Sources
     Treatises
     Subscription Resources
     Labriola Center at ASU

Cultural Resources
     Treatises
     Research Databases
     News and Web Resources

Indian Gaming
    Tribal Law
     Research Databases
     Treatises
     Legislative and Regulatory History
     Federal Government Websites
     Current Awareness 

WATER LAW

Water law consists of the statues, regulations, and case law that govern the ownership, control, and use of water. The resources below provide information on resources that focus on the intersection of water law and Indian law.

American Indian Law Center’s Native American Water Rights Settlement E-Repository
This E-Repository has federal, state, tribal, and court public documents relating to Native American water rights settlements.

Arizona v. California Collection at the William A. Wise Law Library
The Arizona v. California Collection at the William A. Wise Law Library at the University of Colorado Boulder contains full-text, searchable pleadings, briefs, orders, transcripts, and reports from the 1963 U.S. Supreme Court case filed by the State of Arizona against the State of California concerning Colorado River water rights.

Central Arizona Project Association, Records, 1922-1974
This print archival collection includes correspondence, speeches, articles, reports, subject files and scrapbooks documenting the establishment of the Central Arizona Project. Information on the website is arranged in four series: correspondence, administrative records, subject files, and scrapbooks.

Native American Water Rights Center
This collection from the University of Arizona compiles federal government documents pertaining to the water rights of tribes in Arizona. Documents are arranged by tribe and items are listed chronologically within each grouping.

Water Resources Research Center
The University of Arizona Water Resources Research Center promotes understanding of critical Arizona and Southwest water management and policy issues through research, community outreach, and public education.

Western States Water Council
The Western States Water Council is an organization consisting of representatives appointed by the governors of 18 western states. One of its primary objectives is to accomplish effective cooperation among western states in the conservation, development, and management of water resources.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IN INDIAN COUNTRY

Treatises

Unlocking the Wealth of Indian Nations (2016)
Unlocking the Wealth of Indian Nations is a print collection of essays by a variety of scholars that provide background on the historical economies of American Indian Nations and explore how indigenous resources can be used today to generate wealth.

Tiller’s Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations (2015)
This e-book provides information on the history, culture, land status, economy, and government of federally recognized tribes across the country.  It also offers statistics for tribes as well as tribal contact information.

Reservation “Capitalism”: Economic Development in Indian Country (2012) 
This book by Professor Robert Miller provides a historical perspective of indigenous economic systems and property rights regimes in the United States, as well as examines the present-day circumstances and potential future of the economies of Native American communities.  It is available in print in the law library and as an e-book (on campus or remotely with ASURITE ID).

You can search for other books in the library catalog by using subject headings such as: Indians of North America – Economic Conditions; Indians of North America – Commerce; and Indian Business Enterprises – United States. You can limit your results to e-books by clicking “Full Text Online” on the right. Print books available in other ASU libraries may be requested and delivered to you at the law library.

Other Resources

The Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development
The Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development seeks to foster self-determined social and economic development among American Indian tribes through applied research.  The Project provides access to its reports and articles through the online Publication Search.

U.S. Census Bureau, American Indian and Alaska Native Resources   
The U.S. Census Bureau provides access to data for the American Indian and Alaska Native population including counts, estimates, and statistics at many geographic levels.  Data is available from the 1990, 2000, and 2010 census.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), Office of Native American Affairs
The SBA Office of Native American Affairs works to ensure that American Indians, Native Alaskans, and Native Hawaiians have access to business development and expansion resources available through the SBA.  The website provides information on loans and grants, training materials, and information on starting and managing a business.

Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), Office of Energy and Economic Development
The BIA Office of Energy and Economic Development helps Indian communities gain economic self-sufficiency through development of resources, application of established business practices, and co-sponsorship of training programs.  The Office’s website offers information on training programs, job placement opportunities, loans, and business resources.

First Nations Development Institute
The First Nations Development Institute supports economic development for American Indian communities through training, policy development, and grant provision.  The five areas the Institute targets are: financial education, combating predatory lending, business development, Native American nonprofits, and Native food and health.

National Congress of American Indians, Economic Development & Commerce
The National Congress of American Indians advocates for investment in tribal economics and works to implement innovative economic policy.  The Congress’ website offers access to NCAI reports and briefings as well as relevant U.S. Congressional documents.