Skip to main content

Indian Law: Cultural Resources

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
     Scope
     News Sources
     Ask a Librarian

Tribal Law
     Background Information
     Tribal Constitutions, Codes, and                     Court Opinions

Arizona Tribes
     Tribal Information - Arizona
     Tribal Law for Tribes in Arizona

Federal Indian Law
     The President and Agencies
     Congress
     The Courts
     Indian Claims Commission
     Indian Policy Documents

Indian Treaties
     Sources for Indian Treaties
     Treaty Background Information
     Maps
     Researching Indian treaties - CALI

International Indigenous Law
     Secondary Sources
     Key International Documents
     The United Nations
     Other International Organizations
     ASU International Law Portal

Subject-Specific Resources
     Water Law
     Economic Development

Secondary Sources
     Treatises
     Subscription Resources
     Labriola Center at ASU

Cultural Resources
     Treatises
     Research Databases
     News and Web Resources

Indian Gaming
    Tribal Law
     Research Databases
     Treatises
     Legislative and Regulatory History
     Federal Government Websites
     Current Awareness 

TREATISES

Below is a short list of treatises related to cultural resources. You can search for other resources in the ASU catalog by using subject headings such as: Indians of North America -- Antiquities -- Law and legislation and United States -- Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act.

Cohen’s Handbook of Federal Indian Law (current)
This treatise covers federal Indian law, focusing on the relationship among tribes, the states, and the federal government within the context of civil and criminal jurisdiction, as well as areas of resource management and government structure. It is available in print in the Law Library and on Lexis Advance (login required).

Legal Perspectives on Cultural Resources (2004)
This book contains a collection of original articles focused on three key issues in historic preservation and cultural resource management: enforcement and preservation, international issues, and repatriation. This includes discussion of key legal controversies, cases, and statutes within a historical context.

The Routledge Companion to Cultural Property (2017)
This book offers multidisciplinary insight into issues related to cultural resources using international case studies. It addresses topics including cultural property as law, cultural property rights, and emerging forms of cultural property.

Who Owns Native Culture? (2003)
Using cases involving indigenous religion, art, sacred sites, and botanical discoveries, this book examines efforts by native peoples to reclassify culture as a proprietary resource. It addresses larger issues including cultural ownership, privacy, intellectual property, and indigenous identity.

RESEARCH DATABASES

ASU subscribes to many interdisciplinary databases that contain content related to cultural resources.  Below is a select list of databases. You can search for additional resources through the full listing of database subjects.

American Indian History Online
This database offers access to over 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.

American Indians and the American West
This resource provides access to a variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. Specific collections include the Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.

Anthrosource
‚ÄčAnthrosource indexes current issues from the American Anthropological Association’s most critical peer-reviewed publications. Coverage is 19th century to the present.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
This database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. It contains more than 141,000 citations of multiple formats covering the U. S. and Canada, and dates of coverage include content from the 16th century to the present.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows searching of multidisciplinary scholarly literature including articles, papers, books, abstracts, and reports from a wide variety of resources such as journals, repositories, and the web.

Indigenous Peoples: North America
This database includes manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, government documents, and images of artwork on the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.

Labriola National American Indian Data Center (ASU) 
This research collection is international in scope and brings together in one location current and historic information on government, culture, religion and world view, social life and customs, tribal history, and information on Native American tribes. 

NEWS AND WEB RESOURCES

Indian Country Today
Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. 

Indian Law News Bulletins (National Indian Law Library)
This service provides information on federal and state court cases related to Indian law, tribal court cases, and legislative, regulatory and legal news.

Law360 Native American Law News
This resource provides updates on legal developments related to Native issues.

FedCenter.gov – Cultural Resources
This federal government webpage provides information on the legal background, at the federal level, for the management of cultural and historic resources. It also provides links to tools and resources related to preservation of historic properties, archaeological sites, gravesites, and repatriation of Native American objects.