Skip to main content

Journal Cite Checking Guide: Journal Articles

INTRODUCTION

This page includes tips and sources for retrieving both law review articles and non-law journal articles. While Lexis and Westlaw might seem to be the most obvious choices for locating journal articles, these services have two significant drawbacks: first, they only rarely provide page numbering from the original; second, their coverage for journals only goes back to 1980 for most titles. You have access to a number of electronic databases articles in PDF format which provides the same page images found in the print versions. Some are available through the Law Library website and some through the ASU Libraries website.

FULL-TEXT RESOURCES

ASU Libraries Catalog - Journal Title Lookup

  • Use the ASU Libraries Journal Search to search for both electronic and print journals by title.
  • Click on the title to view available databases.  Be sure to note the dates of coverage for each database.
  • Click on the name of the database to search for articles.

Google and Google Scholar

You can use Google to look for the Journal's website.  Some journals make PDF copies freely available.  Sometimes Google Scholar may point you to a PDF copy as well, especially if the journal is online-only.
 

HEINONLINE

The HeinOnline database collection provides online, image-based access to law periodical titles previously only available in print, as well as other primary and secondary resources of historic significance. Its libraries contain numerous complete runs of titles from the first volume, predating coverage available on either LexisNexis or Westlaw for most titles. HeinOnline's most attractive feature for cite checkers is that it contains full-text exact page images of law reviews and journals, U.S. Reports, the Federal Register, and other primary and secondary legal sources. There is no difference between looking at a PDF version of a law review volume and looking at the actual print volume. In addition, Hein provides information on how it can be utilized as a cite-checking tool in its Cite Check in Seconds guide.

Use the search box below to search across the HeinOnline Law Journal Library using any of the following fields: text, creator, title, date, description, state or country. To search across multiple fields, use boolean operators to combine fields.



Search Law Journal Library


LEXIS AND WESTLAW

The LexisNexis Law Reviews and Journals and the Westlaw Journals and Law Reviews (JLR) databases contain hundreds of full text law reviews and bar journals. These periodicals can be searched as a group, individually, by topic or jurisdiction. There are separate files for newspapers including some foreign newspapers.

INDEXES

Library Catalogs do not list individual articles in journals, law reviews, newspapers and other periodicals. Use indexes to identify articles on a topic or by an author or to fill in missing information of a citation. Use indexes to complement Westlaw or LexisNexis because even though they don't have the full text of an article, they may cover journals not included in Westlaw or LexisNexis.

  • LegalTrac (Legal Resources Index)
    LegalTrac has wore than 1,500 indexed titles, including law reviews, legal newspapers, international legal publications, specialty publications and Bar Association journals. Indexes periodicals 1980 to date. Also available on LexisNexis and Westlaw.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 
    This retrospective database indexes legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews are also covered.
     
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
    The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in more than 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions. Indexes periodicals 1985 to date.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory/Ulrichsweb

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage and tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians. TIP: Use the advanced search to narrow by language, by subject, to find journals that have ceased publication, etc.

ASK A LIBRARIAN

In Person
The Law Library's reference librarians are here to help you find or navigate research resources. The Reference Desk is located on the 3rd floor of the Arizona Center for Law and Society.

Reference Hours
Monday – Friday          9:00 am - 4:00 pm

By Email
Use our email reference service to ask any question you might ask at the Law Library. Replies are usually sent within 24 hours.

By Phone
Please call us at (480) 965-6144

Law Students
You can Make an Appointment with a Librarian for one-on-one research assistance. Include a description of your topic and times you are available to meet.  A librarian will contact you to set up an appointment.