Skip to main content

Alternative Dispute Resolution: News and Current Awareness

GUIDE OUTLINE

Home
   Scope
   Ask a Librarian

Primary Sources
   Arizona Statutes
   Federal and Nationwide

Secondary Sources
   Texts and Treatises
   Journals

Databases and Indexes
   Legal Research Databases
   Legal News

News and Current Awareness
   Web Resources
   Blogs
   Student Resources

Employment ADR
   Arbitration Awards Databases
   Web Resources
   Treatises
   Commercial Databases
   Current Awareness

WEB RESOURCES

Alternatives to the High Cost of Litigation (Westlaw password required)
This newsletter by the International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution covers ADR developments, best practices, and trends. It is published 11 times a year and is available on Westlaw.

ABA: Alternative Dispute Resolution  
Features articles, practice points, and audio files concerning mediation, arbitration, and other dispute resolution mechanisms.

American Arbitration Association
Provides information on specific practice areas; lists of rules and fees; lists of practicing arbitrators and mediators; and educational resources.

Dispute Resolution Magazine
The American Bar Association publication features news, analysis of the field, summaries of cases, and tips on professional practic.

Law360 
News, analysis, opinion, and court cases involving alternative dispute resolution.

Lexis Arbitration Resources (Lexis Advance password required)
Includes links to arbitration awards databases, as well as resources such as rules, manuals, publications, and focused practice guides. 

Mediate
News and commentary in addition to lists of mediators, educational materials, and information about specific practice areas.

National Conference of State Legislatures, Collective Bargaining and Labor Union Legislation Database
This database has state legislation and bills on collective bargaining issues, such as arbitration, mediation, and negotiation from 2011-present.

Practical Law (Westlaw password required)
Practice notes on how to successfully perform an arbitration, Q&As, and templates for dispute resolution in the U.S. or internationally.

Practice Advisor (Lexis Advance password required)
Explanations of arbitration practice, with links to forms, checklists, and articles, along with information about arbitrators.

Resolutions Podcast
Audio programming about dispute resolution and prevention from the ABA.

Uniform Law Commission
The Uniform Law Commission’s web site has the text of uniform laws with commentary, such as the Uniform Arbitration Act, Uniform Family Law Arbitration Act, and Uniform Mediation Act.

Westlaw Arbitration Materials (Westlaw password required)
Arbitration awards databases listed by subject matter, along with cases, rules, arbitrator profiles, and international materials.

Westlaw Arizona Arbitration Form Finder (Westlaw password required)
Search form for Arizona treatise entries and other secondary materials in Westlaw Edge.

BLOGS

ADR Times
News, analysis, and reflective essays on the field.

Arbitration Nation
Commentary on legal developments in the world of arbitration from Mitchell Hamline School of Law Professor Henry Allen Blair.

Disputing 
Commentary on news and developments within ADR.

Indisputably
An academic approach to ADR, featuring Arizona State Professor Art Hinshaw.

JAMS ADR Blog
Confronting the challenges facing ADR as a field expanding into new territories and practice areas, and featuring contributors including neutrals, attorneys, and judges.

Just Court ADR
Summarizing and analyzing efficacy studies and sharing insights from ADR practitioners. 

Kluwer Arbitration Blog
Interviews, news, and commentary about domestic and foreign arbitration practice from a casebook and hornbook publisher.

Kluwer Mediation Blog
Analyzing dispute resolution and negotiation processes inside and outside of ADR, with a focus on analyzing human behavior to promote more effective practice.

Outsourcing Justice
Insights into court decisions concerning ADR-related legal issues such as arbitration clauses.

Practical Law Arbitration Blog
Commentary on arbitration issues, with a heavy emphasis on foreign and international practice from Thomson Reuters, the company behind legal research database Westlaw.

STUDENT RESOURCES

Lodestar Dispute Resolution Center
The vast majority of legal disputes never advance to the trial stage, but are resolved through negotiation, arbitration, and mediation. The Lodestar Center gives students experience in facilitating settlements. It provides opportunities for students to gain practical training and experience.

Dispute Resolution Student Association (DRSA)
ASU Law students can connect with ADR professionals through presentations and networking events.